Asimina Kiourti, PI

Asimina Kiourti is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The Ohio State University where she leads the Wearable and Implantable Technologies group. From 2013 to 2016 she served as a Post-Doctoral Researcher and then a Senior Research Associate at Ohio State’s ElectroScience Laboratory. Prior to that, she received the Ph.D. degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens, Greece (2013) and the M.Sc. degree from University College London, UK (2009). Prof. Kiourti’s research interests lie in bio-electromagnetics, wearable and implantable antennas, sensors for body area applications, and flexible textile-based electronics. Her publication record includes 10 book chapters, 10 patents (3 awarded, 7 pending), 61 journal papers, and over 80 conference papers. Her work has been recognized with over 40 scholarly awards, including the 2018 URSI Young Scientist Award, the 2014 IEEE EMB-S BRAIN Young Investigator Award, the 2013 Chorafas Foundation Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation Award, the 2012 IEEE MTT-S Graduate Fellowship for Medical Applications, and the 2011 IEEE AP-S Doctoral Research Award. Prof. Kiourti is active in IEEE and USNC-URSI, where she serves in several elected and appointed roles. Her contributions have gained international reputation and have been featured by TechCrunch, Gizmodo, Times of India, Australia Network News, and the ALN Magazine, among others.


PhD Students


Saad Alharbi

KACST Fellow

Balaji Dontha

Graduate Research Associate

Katrina Guido

NDSEG Fellow


Vigyanshu Mishra

Graduate Research Associate

Allyanna Rice

University Fellow 

Zhenyu Wang (co-advised)

Graduate Research Associate


Keren Zhu

Graduate Research Associate


Master’s Students


Mihir Patil

Student Research Assistant

Ian Williamson

Student Research Assistant


Undergraduate Researchers


Matt Bendel

Student Research Assistant

Roope Ketola

Student Research Assistant

Shanila Reza

Student Research Assistant



PhD Students

  • Jack Blauert, Sept. 2020

  • Wei-Chuan Chen, Apr. 2019

  • Brock DeLong, May 2018

  • Md. Asiful Islam, Aug. 2017

MS Students

  • Cody O’Connor, Dec. 2018

  • Samuel Mensah, May 2018

  • Alexander Johnson, Dec. 2017

Honors Research Program

  • Zeke Dalisky, Apr. 2020

  • Junzi Xiang, Apr. 2019

  • Shreyas Chaudhari, Dec. 2018

  • Raman Vilkhu, May 2018




Undergraduate and K-12 Students

  • Phillip Fishbein, UG Researcher (9-12/2019)

  • Cody O’Connor, UG Researcher (1-9/2017)

  • Maria Somsy, Cristo Rey High School (5-8/2017)

  • Harsh Singhania, UG Researcher (5-8/2017)

  • Paloma Cooper, UG Researcher (2-5/2017)

  • David Like, UG Researcher (6/2015-8/2016)

  • Thomas Kucinsky, UG Researcher (9-12/2015)

  • Hongyi Liang, UG Researcher (5-12/2015)

  • Sriram Saidev, UG Researcher (6-8/2015)

  • Zheng Fong Lau, UG Researcher (10/2014-4/2015)

  • Samuel Luther, UG Researcher (10/2013-5/2014)

  • Mike Herman, UG Researcher (12/2013-5/2014)

  • Michael Zhang, UG Researcher (6-9/2012)