Immigration Policies and Students from Undocumented Families


3:00 p.m.- 4:15 P.M.

Hale Hall | MLK Room

How do we identify and integrate immigration status as a form of social difference in our educational spaces? What are the implications of the recent decision to end DACA? Join Dr. Sarah Gallo to discuss her research on undocumented status and schooling as well as to participate in conversations that recognize and incorporate immigration status as a form of social difference in our roles as university community members.

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion Discussion Series on Diversity offers Ohio State faculty, staff and students an opportunity to explore topics impacting diversity on Ohio State’s campus. This annual discussion series promotes excellence through diversity while enhancing the educational experience for the Ohio State community.

For questions about access, requests for a sign language interpreter or other accommodations for a disability, please email Ana Brown at Early requests are encouraged; a week will generally allow us to provide seamless access.

Click HERE to RSVP.

Please RSVP by 5:00 p.m. on September 25, 2017.

Ford Foundation Fellowship Programs

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine is accepting applications for the 2018 Ford Foundation Fellowships Programs for Achieving Excellence in College and University Teaching. Full eligibility information and online applications are available on our website.

Through its Fellowship Programs, the Ford Foundation seeks to increase the diversity of the nation’s college and university faculties by increasing their ethnic and racial diversity, to maximize the educational benefits of diversity, and to increase the number of professors who can and will use diversity as a resource for enriching the education of all students.

Eligibility Requirements:
• U.S. citizens, nationals, permanent residents (holders of a Permanent Resident Card), or individuals granted deferred action status under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals Program (DACA) program, and political asylees and refugees regardless of race, national origin, religion, gender, age, disability, or sexual orientation
• Individuals planning a career in teaching and research at the college or university level in a research-based filed of science, social science or humanities

Predoctoral–$24,000 per year for three years
• Dissertation–$25,000 for one year
• Postdoctoral–$45,000 for one year
Awardees will have expenses paid to attend at least one Conference of Ford Fellows. Approximately 65 predoctoral, 36 dissertation, and 24 postdoctoral fellowships will be awarded.

Application Deadline Dates:
Predoctoral: December 14, 2017 (5:00 PM EST)
• Dissertation: December 7, 2017 (5:00 PM EST)
• Postdoctoral: December 7, 2017 (5:00 PM EST)
Supplementary Materials receipt deadline for submitted applications is January 9, 2018 (5:00 PM EST)

For more information and to apply online:

Webinar: Proposal Development Support for Graduate Students

 Proposal Development Support for Graduate Students

9/21/17, 11:30-noon

Presenters: Neal Kelley, Bing Tian and Kim Lightle

  • Cover basic info on policies and processes for proposal development
  • Identify student specific issues with submitting a research proposal (requesting PI status, complete required training, etc.)
  • Review funding opportunities specific to graduate students

REGISTER: (you will receive the webinar URL with your registration confirmation)

This webinar is brought to you by the EHE Office of Research. If you have any questions, please contact Rebecca Chacko (

Holmes Scholarship Application

The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) Holmes Scholars Program consists of doctoral students from traditionally underrepresented backgrounds pursuing terminal degrees in education at AACTE member institutions. The program provides mentorship, peer support, and rich professional development opportunities. It helps AACTE member institutions increase the diversity of their faculty by developing an outstanding pool of candidates for faculty and other leadership positions.

AACTE member institutions select Holmes Scholars. Applicants can learn more information about becoming a Holmes Scholar through their school, college, or department of education, and by visiting:

Individuals selected as AACTE Holmes Scholars:

  • Are doctoral students or students pursuing a terminal degree in the education field. These individuals may be nominated during their first year and begin their Scholar status at any point that the institution is prepared to support their participation.
  • Are members of groups traditionally underrepresented in the education professoriate or in leadership positions in the education and education research fields (especially racial, linguistic, and ethnic minorities, and people with exceptionalities).
  • Intend to be or are engaged in teacher education (preservice and/or in-service) OR are engaged in fields/specializations with a clear school-based focus (e.g., school psychology, educational administration, education technology, or counseling) or with an educational research focus (e.g., educational measurement and statistics).
  • Demonstrate a commitment to equity and diversity.
  • Agree to participate in university-school-community collaborative partnership arrangements, for research, service, or advocacy activities.

To apply: Download the application (Holmes Scholarship App_2017-2i8lsot) and submit all materials via email to Ryann Randall at by September 27, 2017.