About Us

Our research group focuses on Fundamentals of Defect Formation in welds, Weldability Evaluation, and Alloy Development for welding and additive manufacturing.

Weldability is a key factor for the manufacturing of structural components. Advanced metallic materials have tailored properties that are attained by complex thermo-mechanical processing and carefully controlled alloying additions. Due to metallurgical changes and thermo-mechanical effects that occur during the welding process, weld failures and loss of properties are frequently experienced. This can be highly deleterious to fabrication and service-performance of welded components, limiting the implementation of advanced metallic materials and/or dissimilar material combinations.

Our research group utilizes a variety of experimental Weldability Test Techniques for evaluation of conventional and newly developed alloy compositions. Thermo-mechanical Modeling facilitates a better understanding of boundary and test conditions in established weldability tests, and enables Test Techniques Development, for example to transfer the concept of weldability to advanced manufacturing processes, such as laser or electron beam additive processing.

Degradation Phenomena and Defect Formation in welds and additive manufactured components are a result of metallurgical and thermo-mechanical aspects that are influenced by (dissimilar) material properties, processing conditions and structural design. Through Experimental TestingAdvanced Materials Characterization, and Thermodynamic and Kinetic Materials Modeling, our research group aims to achieve a fundamental understanding of the metallurgical processes, material properties and failure mechanisms in welds and additive manufactured components. This serves as the basis for our Alloy Development and optimization efforts for weld applications and additive manufacturing.

Research Focus

  • Weldability and welding metallurgy of metallic materials

  • Fundamentals of degradation and cracking phenomena in welds

  • Metallurgical challenges in dissimilar materials welding and additive manufacturing

Type of Analysis

  • Weldability testing and evaluation

  • Filler metal development and optimization

  • Thermodynamic and kinetic materials modeling for weld applications

  • Advanced weld microstructure characterization

Current Research Efforts

  • Waveform controlled gas metal arc welding of corrosion resistant alloys without back purging, Student: Jeremy McNicol, Sponsor: NSF I/UCRC Manufacturing and Materials Innovation Center (Ma2JIC), Collaborators: Narasi Sridhar (OSU MSE), Lincoln Electric, Electric Power Research Institute

  • Mechanisms of Hierarchical Microstructure Formation under Rapid Solidification of Functional Heusler Alloys, Graduate Student: Emily Flitcraft, Sponsor: National Science Foundation Division of Materials Research (NSF DMR), Collaborators: Markus Chmielus,  Wei Xiong (University of Pittsburgh)

  • Insight into Liquid Metal Embrittlement in the Fe-Zn and Fe-Cu Systems, Graduate Student: Dean Sage, Sponsor: OSU Institute for Materials Research (IMR), OSU Fellowship, Collaborators: Joerg Jinschek, Antonio Ramirez (OSU MSE/WE)

  • Development of a High Chromium, Ni-Base Filler Metal for Nuclear Applications, Graduate Student: Luke Johnson (graduated with MS in Autumn 2019), Sponsor: Electric Power Research Institute, Collaborators: John C. Lippold (OSU MSE/WE)

  • Effect of Interstitial Elements on the Weldability of Nickel Base Alloys, Graduate Student: Louie Aguilar (graduated with MS in Summer 2019), Sponsor: Electric Power Research Institute / NSF I/UCRC Manufacturing and Materials Innovation Center (Ma2JIC)

  • Weldability of High Entropy Alloys for High Temperature Applications, Graduate Student: Alexander C. Martin (graduated with MS in Summer 2019), Sponsor: AWS-Miller Electric Graduate Fellowship

Student Research Group (May 2020)

  • Dean Sage (Graduate Student, PhD)
  • Emily Flitcraft (Graduate Student, MS)
  • Luke Johnson (Graduate Student, MS)
  • Federico Aponte (Undergraduate Researcher)
  • Allina Molinaro (Undergraduate Researcher)
  • Sydney Coates (Undergraduate Researcher)
  • Mingwen Liao (Undergraduate Researcher)
  • Eric Kennedy (Undergraduate Researcher)
  • Margaret Lashutka (Undergraduate Researcher)
  • Jeremy McNicol (Undergraduate Researcher) and
  • Ailsa Craigmile (High School Intern)

Graduated Students

  • Alexander C. Martin (MS, graduated in Summer 2019)
  • Louie Aguilar (MS, graduated in Summer 2019)
  • Luke Johnson (MS, graduated in Fall 2019)

Group photo from September 2018 (left to right): Alexander C. Martin (Graduate Student), Louie Aguilar (Graduate Student), Mike Stotts (Undergraduate Researcher), Dean Sage (Graduate Student), Luke Johnson (Graduate Student), Tom Filbert (Undergraduate Researcher), Emily Flitcraft (Undergraduate Researcher), and Assist. Prof. Carolin Fink. Not in the picture: Daniella Morris, Eric Kennedy, James Hansen, and Thomas Estep (Undergraduate Researcher).