Awards and Activities


  • 2014: IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Distinguished Award, 2014 (given to one individual annually from across the world). Award citation: “For game-changing contributions to computational electromagnetics, radar scattering and antennas, and for educational leadership and service to the electromagnetics community.”
  • 2013: IEEE Rudolf Henning Distinguished Mentoring Award, 2013 (given to one individual annually)
  • 2011: Fellow, Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society.
  • 2011: IEEE Chen-To Tai Distinguished Education Award (given to one individual annually. Citation: For exemplary contributions as an inspiring teacher and mentor, and for advancing electromagnetic technology.
  • 2010: Scott College of Engineering career award for teaching research and service, Ohio State Univ. Citation: For pioneering contributions in education, including authorship of important texts and excellent mentoring of students, in research, including seminal contributions to computational electromagnetics and antenna design, and for leadership and distinctive service to the engineering profession.
  • 2006-2010: IEEE Distinguished Lecturer
  • 2004: Listed by ISI among the top 250 most referenced authors
  • 1996: Fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

Professional Activities

Chair, USNC/URSI B 2015-2017
External examiner for Italian-wide faculty selection cmt 2013-2014
Chair of review cmt for Technical University of Crete review 2012
Vice Chair, URSI Commission B 2012-2015
IEEE-wide committee for Fellows evaluation 2010-2014
Chair, IEEE Antennas and Propagat. Society Fellows Evaluation Cmt. 2005-2009
Convener to URSI General Assembly 2005, 2008
Advisory Cmt and co-organizer of International Workshop on Antennas and Wireless Applications 2005-2015
Track Chair for IEEE Vehicular Techn. Society Conference 2004-2005
Technical Committee Chair for URSI (Int. Union of Radio Science) 2004-2011
Technical Advisory member to International URSI 2002-
President and VP of IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society 2003-2005
Co-Chair, IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Conference (1700 attendees) 2003
Chair and co-Organizer, Finite Elements Workshop 2002
IEEE Fellows Committee 1998-2004
IEEE Antennas and Propagation Administrative Committee 1996-1998
Co- organizer of the 2000 Diffraction Days meeting 2000
JINA (France), Scientific Committee 2001-2005
Co-organizer of the International Finite Element Workshop 1994, 1998, 2000, 2002
Technical Committee, COMPUMAG (Computational EM) Conference 1994, 1995, 1998, 2000, 2001
Technical Committee, Advanced Computational Electromagnetics Conference 1995, 1996
General Chairman, IEEE Antennas and Propagation International Symposium and Radio Science Meeting (with over 1000 attendees) 1993
Technical Committee, IEEE Antennas and Propagation Symposium 1988-Present
Editorial Services:
• Associate Editor, URSI Bulletin 2002-2010
• Associate for J. Electromagnetics Waves and Applications 1995-2008
•  Associate Editor, IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine 1992-2007
• Associate Editor, Radio Science 1994-1997
• Associate Editor, IEEE Antennas and Propagation Transactions 1989-1993
• Guest Editor for Special Electromagnetics issue 1993, 1998
• Guest Editor for Special Radio Sci. Issue 1996
Departmental Committees:
Executive Committee 2003-Present
Awards Committee 2010-Present
Personnel Committee 2006-2009
Promotion and Tenure Cmts 2004-2008
EECS Dept., Financial Aid Chair
• Responsible for the $800,000 Fellowship budget of the EECS Dept. 2001-2002
EECS Dept. Executive Committee 1997-1999
Director, Radiation Laboratory 1998-2000
EECS Dept. EE Division Graduate Committee 1990-2002
EECS Dept. Graduate Advisor 1994-1997
EECS Dept. Computing Organization Faculty Committee 1993-1997
CoE Committees:
Chair, Ohio State College of Engineering Awards Committee 2015
Dean’s Research Council 2012-Present
Awards Committee Member 2012-Present
College Centers Budget Guidance Cmt. 2012
College Ranking Review 2012
College of Enginering, Finance Cmt (OSU) 2005-2006
CoE College strategic planning cmt 2005
ECE Dept Chair Search Committee 2004-2005
EECS Dept.  Review Committee 96/97
U of M Committees:
University Tenure Committee, Chair 2000-2001
SACUA Tenure Committee 1999-2002
Senate Assembly 1994-1997
Research Policies Committee 1994-1997