TOPS Staff Spotlight: Meet Sheri

Where are you from?

I grew up in Wisconsin. I lived in Washington D.C for graduate school as well as Tucson, AZ for my winter internship for graduate school.

What is your job title with the TOPS program? 

Program Coordinator: Residential Coordinator

 What responsibilities do you have with your job?

  • I work with all students in the program, we meet at least bi weekly with each student, I focus on independent living goals. With the support of Students/Mentors I develop the social calendar and coordinate the community service program for the TOPS program. 
  • As the residential coordinator I work closely with housing/residence hall/student life departments as well as the staff at the University Village Apartment Complex that we have a partnership with. We have had a very exciting year hosting students in our first year being able to live in the residence hall. 

  What do you like best about working with TOPS?

  • The students! I love working with young adults as they navigate the transition to adulthood. 
  • My awesome team of coworkers!
  • The wonderful families that we serve.

 What are some hobbies/interests that you have?

  • I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. 
  • I enjoy hiking, playing games, cooking, going out to eat, and traveling.

 Any interesting facts about yourself.

  •  I am fluent in American Sign Language.
  •  I’m married to my awesome husband of soon to be 27 years, we have one adult son and an Australian Shepherd Stella and a grand pup: Redd (Belgium Malinois)
  • I am a Former Wrestling Coach (yes men’s team)

Sheri with her husband Jani

Sheri with her son Riley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *