Research Group

PhD students

  • Daniel O. Acero
  • Shah H. Chowdhury
  • Julio L. Nicolini
  • Indranil Nayak
  • Ian Schwind
  • Qiping Zhou

Visiting Scholars and Postdoctoral Associates

  • Rafiul K. Rasel

Former group members


PhD advisees (with latest known position)

External PhD advisees

  • Marcela S. Novo, Numerical Analysis of Electromagnetic Sensors for Oilfield Exploration Using Finite Volume Methods [in Portuguese], 2007 (co-advised by L. C. Silva, degree awarded by Pontifical Catholic Univ. of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil).
  • Maiquel S. Canabarro, Application of the Numerical Mode Matching Technique with Multiple-Knot B-Splines to the Analysis of Oilfield Well-Logging Tools [in Portuguese], 2016 (co-advised by J. R. Bergmann, degree awarded by Pontifical Catholic Univ. of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil).
  • Carlos I. P. Rueda, A New Computational Approach to Solve Convolutional Integral Equations: The Method of Sampling for One Dimension, 2017 (co-advised by R. B. Miller, degree awarded by Universidad de los Andes, Colombia).
  • Guilherme S. Rosa, Pseudo-Analytical Modeling for Electromagnetic Well-Logging Tools in Complex Geophysical Formations, 2017 (co-advised by J. R. Bergmann, degree awarded by Pontifical Catholic Univ. of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil).

MS advisees

  • Neelakantam Venkatarayalu, Finite-Difference Time-Domain Simulations to Characterize Dielectric Horn Antennas, 2002 (co-advised by R. Lee).
  • Yik-Kiong Hue, Numerical Simulation of Electromagnetic Well-logging Problems, 2003
  • Qussai Marashdeh, Sensitivity Matrix Calculation for Electrical Capacitance Tomography of Flow Systems, 2003.
  • Burkay Donderici, FDTD Algorithms with Novel Subgridding and Alternating-Direction-Implicit Schemes, 2004.
  • Dennis Hausyah, MIMO Antenna Systems (non-thesis), 2004.
  • Hwa-Ok Lee, Cylindrical FDTD Analysis of LWD Tools through Anisotropic Dipping Layered Earth Media, 2005.
  • Dennis Wang, Antennas for RFID (non-thesis), 2005.
  • Kim Naeyeon, Numerical Simulation of Electromagnetic MWD Tools in Axisymmetric Invasion Zones (non-thesis), 2005.
  • Ju-Ling Eng, Higher Order Finite-Difference Time-Domain Methods, 2006.
  • Chenxin Su, Unconditionally Stable FDTD Methods (non-thesis), 2012.
  • Viswajit Natarajan, Design and Testing of a Validation Platform for a Smartphone (non-thesis), 2013.
  • Kamalesh Sainath (non-thesis), 2014.
  • Li Zhang, FDTD Algorithm for Plasmonic Nanoparticles with Spatial Dispersion, 2016.
  • Aaron S. Butterfield, Using Synthetic Cognits and the Combined Cumulative Squared deviation as Tools to Quantify the Performance of Cognitive Radar Algorithms, 2016 (co-advised by G. Smith).
  • Wentao Bao, A Simulation and Optimization Study of Spherical Perfectly Matched Layers2017.
  • Timothy H. Kindervatter, Survey of Ionospheric Propagation Effects and Modeling Techniques for Mitigation of GPS Error, 2018.
  • Indranil Nayak (non-thesis), 2021.

Visiting Scholars and Postdocs

  • Akil Narayan, visiting PhD student, 2005.
  • Marcela S. Novo, visiting PhD student, 2005-2006.
  • Xinyu Hou, visiting faculty, 2007-2008.
  • Kyung-Young Jung, postdoctoral research associate, 2008-2009.
  • Guo-Sheng Liu, visiting PhD student, 2008-2010.
  • Maiquel S. Canabarro, visiting PhD student, 2011-2012.
  • Qi Liu, visiting PhD student, 2012.
  • Luis M. D. Angulo, visiting PhD student, 2013.
  • Carlos I. P. Rueda, visiting PhD student, 2014-2015.
  • Guanglong Xing, visiting faculty, 2014-2015.
  • Mehmet M. Taygur, visiting PhD student, 2015.
  • Jong-Eon Park, postdoctoral research associate, 2013-2015.
  • Guilherme S. Rosa, visiting PhD student, 2015-2016.
  • Vinicius R. N. Santos, postdoctoral research associate, 2015-2016.
  • Xuelong Du, visiting PhD student, 2015-2016.
  • Fei Deng, visiting faculty, 2016.
  • Zhengkai Wang, visiting faculty, 2017-2018.
  • Arne Van Londersele, visiting PhD student, 2017 (co-hosted by R. Lee).
  • Xin Duan, visiting PhD student, 2017-2018.
  • Xing-Hua Wang, visiting faculty, 2018-2019.
  • Vinicius M. Pepino, visiting PhD student, 2020-2021.