Principal Investigator

Siddharth Rajan
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
Dept. of Materials Science Engineering.

Post-Doctoral Researchers

Chandan Joishi

Chandan received his Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (IITB), India in 2020. During his Ph.D. lifetime, he was a Visiting Scholar to Prof. Rajan’s group from 2016-18 working on Gallium Oxide based energy-efficient electronic devices. He has a background in semiconductor device physics, fabrication, characterization, and analysis; and hand-on-experience in Gallium Oxide, GaN, Ge, and Si technologies. Post Ph.D., he served as a Project Research Scientist in the Department of Electrical Engineering, IITB, India prior to joining Prof. Rajan’s group as a Postdoctoral Scholar in August 2021. His research interests encompass the areas of electronics based on transistors/diodes that could enable a new class of ultra-efficient electrical systems for next-generation power and RF/mm-Wave technologies. He is a recipient of the “Excellence in Ph.D. research” award for the year 2018-2020 conferred by IITB, India and the “Global Partnership Grant” by the Institute of Materials Research, Ohio-State and IITB in 2016.

Graduate Students

Hyunsoo Lee

Hyunsoo Lee received his B.S. and M.S. in Electrical & Electronic Engineering from Dankook University, Korea, in 2014 and 2016, respectively. He joined Prof. Rajan’s group as a PhD student in Fall 2018. Before joining OSU, he worked as a researcher at Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute (ETRI) in Korea. His research interests include GaN vertical power devices.

Tae Young Kim

Taeyoung Kim received his B.S. in Physics from Sungkyunkwan University, in 2010 and his M.S. in physics from Seoul National University in 2013. He had worked in Samsung Electro-Mechanics as a researcher from 2013 to 2018. He joined Prof. Ragan’s group as a PhD candidate in 2019. His research interests include electron emitter and vacuum transistor.

Ashok Dheenan

Ashok Dheenan joined EDL in 2019 and began PhD studies in Spring 2020. He received his B.S. in Electrical & Computer Engineering from The Ohio State University in December 2018. His research interests are in MBE growth and process development of Beta-Gallium oxide lateral devices for power switching and RF applications. He was born in Toledo, OH and grew up in Cincinnati, OH.

Sushovan Dhara

Sushovan joined the group as a PhD student in spring 2020. His work focuses on vertical Ga2O3 devices for high voltage and high power applications. He completed BS with Physics Honors from West Bengal State University (2015) and MS-M.Tech in Physics and Material Science with specialization in Nanotechnology from Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay (2019).

Sheikh Ifatur Rahman

Ifat started as a PhD student in Fall 2020. He completed BSc in Electrical Engineering with Honors from Islamic University of Technology, Bangladesh (2016) and MSc in Electrical Engineering with specialization in Photovoltaics from South Dakota State University (2020). His current research focus is on epitaxial growth of III-nitride semiconductor materials and development of optoelectronic (LED) devices.

Agnes Maneesha Dominic Merwin Xavier

Agnes completed her bachelor’s in Materials Science and Engineering at the College of Engineering, Anna University, India in 2019 and joined Dr. Rajan’s group as a PhD student in August 2020. Her current work focusses on the design, epitaxial growth, characterization, processing of UV LEDs.


Yinxuan Zhu

Yinxuan joined the group in autumn 2021. Her work now focuses on AlGaN/GaN/BST HEMT simulation. Yinxuan received B.S. in Electronic Science and Technology from Tongji University, Shanghai, China in 2020.


Nathan Wriedt

Nathan joined the group summer of 2022. He earned a B.S. in Material Science and Engineering from the Ohio State University with a specialization in electronic materials. His research interests include high power switching devices and epitaxial growth of III-V nitride semiconductor materials.


Shams Jabin

Shams completed his B.Sc. and M.Sc. in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET) with specialization in nanotechnology in 2017 and 2022 respectively. He joined Prof. Rajan’s group in Autumn 2022. He has experience of semiconductor growth and his current research interest focuses on perovskite based Ferroelectric field effect transistors for energy efficiency.

John Cobbinah

John Cobbinah completed his Bachelor of Science in Engineering Physics at the University of Cape Coast, Ghana in 2021 and served as a teaching and research assistant at the department of Physics at the University of Cape Coast. He joined Prof. Rajan’s group as a master’s Student in Autumn 2022.


Kyle Liddy

Kyle Liddy completed his B.S and M.S. in Chemistry at Wright State University in 2017. In 2018, he began working at the Air Force Research Laboratory as an Electronic Device Engineer, where he focused on device research as well as rapid MMIC prototyping. Kyle joined Professor Siddharth Rajan’s group as a PhD student in Spring 2023. His research interests include materials and device engineering of WBG and UWBG material systems for high-power RF applications.


Akilesh Srikanth

Akilesh earned his Bachelor’s in Electrical and Computer Engineering from The Ohio State University in May 2023. He joined Prof. Rajan’s group as a Master’s student in summer 2023 with interest in semiconductor electronics. His current work focuses on simulation and processing of AlGaN based devices for effective Field management.



Seungheon Shin

Seungheon Shin joined Prof. Rajan’s group as a PhD student in Fall 2023. He received his B.S. and M.S. in Electrical & Electronic Engineering at Hongik University, South Korea in 2021 and 2023 respectively. He focused on the development of normally-off GaN power devices and combining ion implantation process with GaN technology. His current research interests include device engineering of WBG and UWBG materials for power and RF applications.

A K M Sarwar Hossain Faysal

Faysal completed his B. Sc. in 2020 and M. Sc. in 2022 in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from the University of Dhaka, where he worked on novel oxide perovskite synthesis and characterization, and Density Functional Theory (DFT) simulations. He joined the group as a PhD candidate in Autumn 2023.



Jon Pratt
Jon joined the group in Autumn 2023 as a graduate researcher. He attended The Ohio State University for a B.S. in Electrical and Computer Engineering



Undergraduate Researchers

Wilson Reynolds

Wilson joined the group in January 2022 as an undergraduate research assistant. His research focuses on developing high voltage Ga2O3 devices for power applications. He is set to graduate with a B.S. in Electrical and Computer Engineering in December of 2022 and plans to pursue a M.S. with a concentration in solid state electronics.

Elizabeth Reichley

Elizabeth joined the group fall of 2022 as an undergraduate student studying electrical engineering. Her research plans to focus on the improvement and testing of UV LEDs. Previous work includes studies of gallium oxide and hafnium zirconium oxide in relation to dielectric integration of high powered and high frequency devices.

Positions are available for interested and motivated undergraduates majoring in ECE, Materials, or Physics.

Alumni (MS/PhD/post-doc)