Friday, March 22, 2019:

1.00–2.00 pm Session 1: Anna Marmodoro (University of Durham/Oxford), “Powers in Early Greek Philosophy”
Chair: Julia Jorati (OSU)
2.15–3.15 pm Session 2: Dominic Bailey (University of Colorado, Boulder), “Platonic and Stoic Powers”
Chair: David Cory (Notre Dame)
Coffee break
3.45–4.45 pm Session 3: Sarah Pessin (University of Denver), “Powers and Receptivities in Ibn Gabirol”
Chair: Tamar Rudavsky (OSU)
5.00–6.00 pm Session 4: Jon McGinnis (University of Missouri, St. Louis), “Power, Nature, and Possibility in Medieval Islam”
Chair: Stephen Ogden (Catholic University of America/Notre Dame)
6.00–7.00 pm Reception


Saturday, March 23, 2019:

9.00–9.30 am Continental breakfast
9.30–10.30 am Session 5: Peter King (University of Toronto), “Powers in Medieval Christian Philosophy”
Chair: Therese Scarpelli Cory (Notre Dame)
10.45 am–11.45 am Session 6: Jeffrey McDonough (Harvard), “Causal Powers and Ontology in Descartes, Malebranche and Leibniz”
Chair: Anat Schechtman (UW-Madison)
Lunch break
1.00–2.00 pm Session 7: Marcy Lascano (University of Kansas), “Powers in Cavendish”
Chair: Evan Thomas (OSU)
2.15–3.15 pm Session 8Sarah Hutton (University of York), “Powers and Virtue in Cudworth and More”
Chair: Jerilyn Tinio (OSU)
Coffee break
3.45–4.45 pm Session 9: Antonia LoLordo (University of Virginia), “Powers in Britain, 1689–1827”
Chair: Lisa Downing (OSU)
5.00–6.00 pm Session 10: Clinton Tolley (University of California, San Diego), “Kant and Hegel on our Understanding of Power in Nature”
Chair: Lisa Benossi (Universität zu Köln)
6.30 pm Dinner for speakers


Sunday, March 24, 2019:

9.00–9.30 am Continental breakfast
9.30–10.30 am Session 11: Jennifer McKitrick (University of Nebraska-Lincoln), “Powers in Contemporary Philosophy”
Chair: Evan Woods (OSU)
10.45 am–12.45 pm Breakout Sessions
Session A: Bailey, Hutton, Pessin, Tolley [Chair: Scott Harkema, OSU]
Session B: Marmodoro, McDonough, McGinnis, King [Chair: Julia Jorati, OSU]
Session C: Lascano, LoLordo, McKitrick [Chair: Evan Thomas, OSU]


All of the main sessions will be held in University Hall 347.