Postdoctoral Scholar Mentor of the Year Award

This award is presented to a postdoctoral researcher, fellow, or scholar who has demonstrated outstanding mentoring of junior trainees (high school, undergraduate, or graduate students) through leadership and support.

Leanna Perez is the 2018 Postdoctoral Scholar Mentor of the Year


Dr. Leanna Perez pictured with her PI, Dr. Irene Hatsu, and the undergraduate research assistants who nominated her for the award.

Dr. Leanna Perez is a postdoctoral researcher in the Hatsu Lab in the Department of Human Sciences. She has interdisciplinary research experience in nutrition and psychiatry and is currently coordinating a clinical research trial for children with ADHD. Her research involves identifying dietary patterns and multinutrient interventions that could inform integrative treatment options for youth with psychiatric or developmental disorders.

Dr. Perez is incredibly enthusiastic about student mentoring and advocacy, and also serves as the current chair for the Policy & Advocacy Committee of the PDA. She has a true passion for learning the stories of each student in her lab and finding a place in research that fits their individual strengths and interests.

2018 Nominees

  • Stephen Baumler, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Will Cantara, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Hardy Castada, Food Science And Technology
  • Veena Devi Ganeshan, Plant Pathology
  • Angela Filous, Neurology
  • Laura Hopkins, Human Sciences
  • Melanie Krook, Internal Medicine
  • Carl Pfendner, Physics
  • Tasha Posid, Psychology
  • Francesco Sammartino, Neurosurgery
  • Suyog Shrestha, Physics
  • Jeffrey Skidmore, Biomedical Engineering
  • Frances Sivakoff, Entomology
  • Vineeta Tanwar, Cell Biology and Physiology/Nursing
  • DeWayne Williams, Psychology
  • Marshleen Yadav, Radiology Oncology

Tasha Posid is the 2017 Postdoctoral Scholar Mentor of the Year


Dr. Noah Weisleder of the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs, presenting the award to Dr. Tasha Posid, with Abby Mills, an undergraduate research assistant who nominated Dr. Posid

Dr. Tasha Posid is a postdoctoral researcher in the Cognitive Development Lab of the Department of Psychology. She was nominated by an undergraduate research assistant who articulated the genuine efforts Dr. Posid has put forth into improving the undergraduate research experience, as well as the outstanding support and mentorship she has received while working with Dr. Posid. In addition to her commendable mentoring capabilities, Dr. Posid has also demonstrated excellent leadership amongst her trainees in the research environment. Congratulations Dr. Posid!

2017 Nominees

  • April Joice, Pharmacy
  • Dario Palmieri, Cancer Biology and Genetics
  • Devendra Dusane, Microbial Infection and Immunity
  • Frances Sivakoff, Entamology
  • Huimin Wang, Materials Science and Engineering
  • James Beacham, Physics
  • Jyoti Katoch, Physics and the Center for Emergent Materials
  • Marlena Ryba, Psychology
  • Michelle Roley-Roberts, Nisonger Center
  • Mohammad Elnakish, Physiology & Cell Biology
  • Qadeer Ahmed, Center for Automotive Research
  • Safiya Khurshid, Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Xiaoyi Lu, Computer Science and Engineering