2019-21 Program

The Center for Historical Research (CHR), in association with the OSU Institute for Democratic Engagement and Accountability (IDEA), will present a two-year program of lectures and seminars in 2019-21 on the topic of “Democracy in a Time of Change and Challenges.” There are concerns that democracy, whatever form it may take, is under stress around the world. This CHR series will examine what is meant by democracy in various regions and countries, how these meanings are changing, and the extent to which democracy is changing and/or under sustained and serious attack. Is democracy evolving, and, if so, how and why? Or is the story really more one of democracy as something that is increasingly endangered?  If it’s the latter, what are the most important causes of that situation and what, if anything, can be done about it? Leading scholars from a variety of disciplines will address those issues beginning in the fall of 2019.

We invite proposals for papers on this topic to be presented at the Center for Historical Research during this series.  Proposals should be sent to David Stebenne, History Department, Ohio State University, 106 Dulles Hall, 230 Annie and John Glenn Ave., Columbus, OH 43210, or as a Word attachment via email to Professor Stebenne’s email address (please see below).

The series co-chairs are David Stebenne, Professor of History and Law, Ohio State University and Michael Neblo, Associate Professor of Political Science and Director, Institute for Democratic Engagement and Accountability (IDEA), Ohio State University.  They can be reached at stebenne.1@osu.edu and neblo.1@osu.edu, respectively.

The other members of the series steering committee and their OSU email addresses are:

Gregory A. Caldeira, Distinguished University Professor, Dreher Chair in Political Communication and Policy Thinking, and Professor of Law; caldeira.1@osu.edu

Jennifer Eaglin, Assistant Professor of History; eaglin.5@osu.edu

Robin Judd, Associate Professor of History; judd.18@osu.edu

Ousman M Kobo, Associate Professor of History; kobo.1@osu.edu

Eric MacGilvray, Associate Professor of Political Science; macgilvray.2@osu.edu