Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) is the only academic honor medical society in the world. A group of six medical students established the society at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in Chicago in 1902 with the motto: “Worthy to serve the suffering.” For over a century, AOA’s mission has remained constant: To recognize and perpetuate excellence in the medical profession.  For additional information about this national honor society, please visit their website.

The Gamma chapter of Ohio at OSU College of Medicine was founded in 1933. Under the leadership of early faculty advisors including Dr. Charles A. Doan, MD and Dr. Robert M. Zollinger, MD, the chapter inducted many promising soon-to-be physicians, including our very own Dr. Mary Beth Fontana, MD in 1966. We take great pride in electing outstanding medical students, faculty, alumni, and house staff to the ranks of the Gamma chapter of Ohio.

Current Leadership:

  • President – Samantha Sovich
  • Vice President – Nichole Zayan

For additional information, please contact:

Sheryl Pfeil, M.D.
395 W. 12th Avenue – Suite 200

Eileen Mehl, M.A.
Director, Student Engagement
Student Life
061D Meiling Hall