Kaitlin Read receives graduate research fellowship from the Microbial Infection and Immunity and Internal Medicine Departments at OSU


Kaitlin Read received a second fellowship to support her work elucidating the transcriptional mechanisms underlying the balance between T helper 1 and T follicular helper responses during viral infection.  The Department of Microbial Infection and Immunity and The Division of Infectious Diseases offered four (4) one-year fellowships to promote innovative infectious disease research focused on host-pathogen interactions, which were made possible by a recent philanthropic donation. This fellowship will support Kaitlin for the next year as she works to finalize in-progress manuscripts regarding her dissertation work. Congratulations, Kaitlin!

Oestreich lab members chair a session and receive awards at the annual OSU Microbial Infection and Immunity Department Retreat

The first MI&I virtual (and second annual) department retreat was highly successful, with fantastic presentations regarding in-progress work from both principal investigators and a host of trainees. The Oestreich lab was well-represented, with a session chaired by post-doctoral scholar Dr. Srijana Pokhrel, and presentations by graduate students Jasmine Tuazon, Devin Jones, and Kaitlin Read (who all received prizes for outstanding presentations, as selected by department-wide votes). Congratulations to all!

Dr. Oestreich named 2021 Mentor of the Year


Dr. Oestreich was named Mentor of the Year during Research Day 2021, hosted by The Ohio State University College of Medicine. In letters submitted by multiple nominators, Dr. Oestreich was described as enthusiastic, generous, committed, and motivating, and nominators emphasized his guidance for career habits, providing constructive feedback, and being an excellent citizen of the biomedical research community. We couldn’t agree more– Congratulations, Dr. Oestreich!

Jasmine Tuazon receives Dean’s Distinguished University Fellowship


MD/Ph.D. student Jasmine Tuazon was awarded the Susan Huntington Dean’s Distinguished University Fellowship by the Ohio State University, which will support the first two years and final dissertation year of her Ph.D. research. This is a highly prestigious award for which the graduate program will nominate promising students in the incoming class. Congratulations, Jasmine!

The Oestreich Lab welcomes three new members!

The Oestreich Lab welcomed three new members this month! Post-doctoral scholar Srijana Pokhrel, Ph.D. and graduate students Jasmine Tuazon (who is working towards both an MD and Ph.D. in the OSU Medical Scientist Training Program) and Melissa Leonard, DVM (who is pursuing her Ph.D. while completing a residency in Veterinary Pathology at the OSU College of Veterinary Medicine). Welcome, all, we’re so glad to have you here!

*This photo was taken in July 2021

Kaitlin Read appointed Vice President and Devin Jones to serve as Secretary of the Microbial Infection and Immunity Graduate Student Society

2nd year graduate student Kaitlin Read was recently selected by her peers to serve as Vice President of the Microbial Infection and Immunity Graduate Student Society.  In this role, Kaitlin will organize trainee speaking opportunities and assist with other programmatic initiatives.  2nd year graduate student Devin Jones was appointed as Secretary of the Society and will be responsible for record keeping and official communications from the organization.  Way to go Kaitlin and Devin!