2017 Symposium

21st Annual Severe Weather Symposium sponsored by the Ohio Union at The Ohio State University and Coca-Cola

The 21st Annual Severe Weather Symposium will be held on March 24th, 2017 from 8am-5pm in the US Bank Conference Theater at the Ohio Union on the campus of the The Ohio State University.

Meteorology Club President: Matthew Campbell
Symposium Head Coordinator: Alexander McCarthy

Meteorology Club Executive Board Members: Jennifer Stubler, Derek Witt, Justin Solze, Emily Sambuco, James White

RSVP to the 2017 Symposium HERE


Speaker List:

Greg Forbes – Severe Weather Expert, The Weather Channel, Atlanta, Georgia

Seth Binau – Science and Operations Officer, NWS Wilmington, Ohio

Mark Frazier – Meteorologist in Charge, NWS Northern Indiana, Indiana

Alan Gerard – Deputy Division Chief, Warning Research & Development Division, NOAA National Severe Storms Laboratory

Ariel Cohen – Mesoscale Assistant/Fire Weather Forecaster, NOAA NWS Storm Prediction Center, University of Oklahoma

Rick McCoy – Director of Van Wert County EMA, Ohio

Jay Farlow (W9LW) – Assistant Emergency Coordinator, Allen County SKYWARN

Nick Greenawalt – NWS Cleveland, Ohio

Ben Gelber – Broadcast Meteorologist WCMH-TV NBC4, Columbus, Ohio


2017 Symposium Videos