The Modern Chinese Novel online course

Dear colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the public launch of my free online course “The Modern Chinese Novel.”

The course currently covers twelve novels and authors, with three video lectures about each novel and one about the author. Those novels are, in chronological order of authorship (not release, which will be roughly in reverse):

Border Town, by Shen Congwen
Rickshaw, by Lao She
Fortress Beseiged, by Qian Zhongshu
The Rice-Sprout Song, by Eileen Chang
Notes of a Desolate Man, by Chu T’ien-wen
The Song of Everlasting Sorrow, by Wang Anyi
Atlas: The Archaeology of an Imaginary City, by Dung Kai-cheung
My South Seas Sleeping Beauty, by Chan Kuei-hsing
Brothers, by Yu Hua
The Three-Body Problem (volume 1), by Liu Cixin
Frog, by Mo Yan
The Man with the Compound Eyes, by Wu Ming-yi

Here is a video about the readings for the course (in English translation):

And here is the first video lecture, about Liu Cixin:

I will be releasing the video lectures during coming weeks on the Modern Chinese Cultural Studies YouTube channel, so be sure to check back or subscribe for updates:

Please share the videos with anyone you think might be interested.

This is an experiment, so I very much welcome comments and corrections.

Happy Year of the Tiger!

Christopher Rea
Professor of Chinese
Department of Asian Studies
The University of British Columbia

website  The Book of Swindles  Where Research Begins

Chinese Film Classics, 1922-1949

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.