Our research activities concentrate on methodological aspects of state-of-the-art EM, opening routes towards atom-sensitive imaging of nanostructures playing a crucial role in numerous applications in materials research and development.

The interdisciplinary ‘in-situ EM’ research group has expertise in atomic scale scanning / transmission electron microscopy (S/TEM) and in in-situ transmission electron microscopy, environmental transmission electron microscopy (ETEM) in particular.

A theme in our work is the ability to extract structural information about materials at the atomic scale using advanced electron microscopy methodologies. Recently our work has focused on the improvement of environmental transmission electron microscopy, including the development of in-situ holders, resulting in the ability to study phase transformations in metals and gas-solid interactions in functional nanomaterials, such as catalysts.


Current projects:

2018.06 – 2020.05

Joerg was selected to investigate ‘next generation automotive three-way catalysts” in collaboration with Ford Motor.


2018.08 – 2023.07

Joerg was selected to be a collaborator in a Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) program for the United States Navy. The team of collaborators will focus on properties, defects, and instabilities in advanced manufactured alloys, an area of great importance to the Navy. The team hopes to better explore a number of physical processes that can affect the final product, including rapid heating and cooling of materials, and examine how physical properties at the sub-micron level might differ from those at a far greater scale. Joerg will lead in-situ TEM efforts to track dynamics of phase transformations and defect evolution on the nanometer length scale.

The MURI program is led by Suresh Babu, the University of Tennessee-Oak Ridge National Laboratory Governor’s Chair for Advanced Manufacturing. The team consists of researchers from University of Tennessee, Virginia Tech, Iowa State University, the University of California – Santa Barbara, the Colorado School of Mines, University of Sydney and University of New South Wales. The program is set up to encourage collaboration between universities in the US and Australia, strengthening educational and governmental alliances. The US universities will be sponsored by the Office of Naval Research and the Australian Team will be sponsored by the Australian Defense Science and Technology Organization.

The award will total roughly $1.5 million a year for three years and be extendable to five years. Ohio State’s share of the funding over five years could total up to $1.25 million.