Workshop #1 – Experimental Design 22-24 May 2019

The goal of this workshop will be to:

i. Develop a common framework for coral bleaching experimental designs to enhance transparency and comparability among studies.
ii. Develop common metrics for quantifying bleaching to facilitate cross-study comparisons.
iii. Assimilate a list of ongoing experiments so new researchers can propose collaborations to make additional measurements within, or contributions to, existing studies

A collaborative framework that fosters transparency would strengthen comparisons among studies that could help inform coral-reef management and facilitate conservation strategies to mitigate coral bleaching worldwide.

When:  22-24 May 2019

Where:  School of Earth Science, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, USA

Workshop leader: Andréa Grottoli (grottoli.1@osu.edu)

Workshop co-leaders: Rebecca Vega Thurber, Robert van Woesik, Robert Toonen, Mark Warner

Workshop participants:

Keisha Bahr University of Hawaii kbahr@hawaii.edu
Iliana Baums Pennsylvania State University ibb3@psu.edu
Karl Castillo U North Carolina – Chapel Hill kdcastil@email.unc.edu
Mary Alice Coffroth University at Buffalo (SUNY) coffroth@buffalo.edu
Ross Cunning Shedd Aquarium rcunning@sheddaquarium.org
Kerri Dobson Ohio State University dobson.77@osu.edu
Meghan Donahue University of Hawaii donahuem@hawaii.edu
Andrea Grottoli Ohio State University grottoli.1@osu.edu
Jim Hench Duke University jim.hench@duke.edu
Roberto Iglesias-Prieto Pennsylvania State University rzi3@psu.edu
Dusty Kemp University of Alabama dwk@uab.edu
Carly Kenkel U. of Southern California ckenkel@usc.edu
Davey Kline Scripps Institute of Oceanography dkline@ucsd.edu
Ilsa Kuffner United States Geological Survey ikuffner@usgs.gov
Jennifer Matthews U. of Technology – Sydney jennifer.matthews@uts.edu.au
Anderson Mayfield Nat’ Oceanic & Atmospheric Assoc. andersonblairmayfield@gmail.com
Rowan McLachlan Ohio State University mclachlan.8@osu.edu
Jackie Padilla-Gamino University of Washington jpgamino@uw.edu
Steve Palumbi Stanford Unviersity spalumbi@stanford.edu
James Price Ohio State University price.1118@osu.edu
Robert Toonen University of Hawaii toonen@hawaii.edu
Robert van Woesik Florida Institute of TEchnology rvw@fit.edu
Rebecca Vega Thurber Oregon State University rebecca.vega-thurber@oregonstate.edu
Christian Voolstra King Abdullah University – KAUST christian.voolstra@kaust.edu.sa
Mark Warner University of Delaware mwarner@udel.edu
Virginia Weiss Oregon State University weisv@oregonstate.edu
Henry Wu Lieibniz Center Trop Mar Res (ZMT) henry.wu@leibniz-zmt.de

How to apply? Complete and submit the Application Form and the pre-workshop Activity Form to the Coral Bleaching RCN Director Andréa Grottoli (grottoli.1@osu.edu) by 12 December 2018. Applications are CLOSED.

Questions? Contact the Coral Bleaching RCN Director Andréa Grottoli (grottoli.1@osu.edu)