W State LGUs

Washington’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: Washington State University

https://wsu.edu @WSUPullman

Established in 1890 as the Washington Agricultural College and School of Science. In 1905, the school changed its name to State College of Washington, although it was commonly known as Washington State College. In 1959, the Washington State legislature changed the school’s name again to Washington State University.

President: Kirk Schulz became the president of Washington State University in 2016. President Schulz has extensive land-grant bona fides, including having received his bachelor’s and doctoral degrees in chemical engineering from the land-grant institution Virginia Tech. Dr. Schulz also held several positions at the land-grant institution Mississippi State University and was appointed president of the land-grant institution Kansas State University in 2009. @WSU_Cougar_Pres


Washington’s 1890 Land-Grant Institution: Northwest Indian College

https://www.nwic.edu @NWIndianCollege

Established in 1973 as the Lummi Indian School of Aquaculture in order to support Indian-owned and operated fish and shellfish hatcheries in the United States and Canada. In 1983, the Lummi Nation chartered the Lummi Community College to fulfill the need for a more comprehensive post-secondary education for tribal members. The school changed its name in 1993 to Northwest Indian College.

President: Justin P. Guillory became the president of Northwest Indian College in 2012 after serving as their Dean of Academics and Distance Learning and Dean of Extended Campus Sites. Dr. Guillory’s land-grant credentials include both a master’s degree in educational administration and a doctoral degree in higher education administration from the land-grant institution Washington State University.



West Virginia’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: West Virginia University

https://www.wvu.edu @WestVirginiaU

Founded in 1867 as the Agricultural College of West Virginia. In 1868, West Virginia lawmakers renamed the school West Virginia University. The campus was built on the grounds of three former academies, the Monongalia Academy of 1814, the Morgantown Female Academy of 1831, and Woodburn Female Seminary of 1858. The limited amount of space available to the university prompted the purchase of land for the Evansdale and Medical campuses that exist two miles north of the original campus. The geographical divide among the campuses resulted in the opening of the Personal Rapid Transit system in 1973, the world’s first automated rapid transit system.

President: E. Gordon Gee became the president of West Virginia University for the second time in 2014. His first presidency at WVU began in 1981 and ran through 1985. Gee has held more university presidencies than any other American. His land-grant credentials are impressive, having served as president two times both at WVU and The Ohio State University, and he is the co-author of the 2018 book Land-Grant Universities for the Future: Higher Education for the Public Good. @gordongee



West Virginia’s 1890 Land-Grant Institution: West Virginia State University

http://www.wvstateu.edu @WVStateU

The school was established as the West Virginia Colored Institute in 1891, providing vocational training and teacher preparation for segregated public schools. In 1915, it became the West Virginia Collegiate Institute and began to offer college degrees. In 1929, the school’s name was changed to West Virginia State College. In 2004, the school’s name was changed again to West Virginia State University.

President: Anthony L. Jenkins became president of West Virginia State University in 2016. The land-grant credentials of President Jenkins include a doctorate from the land-grant institution Virginia Tech University and his service as vice president for student affairs and enrollment management at the land-grant institution University of Maryland Eastern Shore. Dr. Jenkins also served in a variety of administrative roles at Virginia Tech during and following his doctoral program pursuits. @JenkinsWVSU11


Wisconsin’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: University of Wisconsin

https://www.wisc.edu @UWMadison

Founded in 1848, the same year that Wisconsin was incorporated as a state. Much of what we understand about the land-grant institution’s tripartite mission – teaching, research, and service – follows the “Wisconsin Idea” first articulated by UW-Madison president Charles Van Hise in 1904, who famously stated that “I shall never be content until the beneficent influence of the University reaches every home in the state.”

President: Rebecca M. Blank became the president of UW in 2013, following a long stint in U.S. government, including positions as Under Secretary for Economic Affairs, Head of the Economics and Statistics Administration, and Deputy Secretary of Commerce. Dr. Blank has an impressive land-grant lineage, including a bachelor’s degree in economics from the land-grant institution University of Minnesota and a doctoral degree from the land-grant institution MIT. @BeckyBlank

Wisconsin’s 1994 Land-Grant Institutions: College of Menominee Nation, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College


College of Menominee Nation

 http://www.menominee.edu @cmn_live

Chartered by the Menominee Tribal Legislature in 1993. The College of Menominee Nation was granted full accreditation by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools in 1998, and is a member of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium. The main campus of CMN is on the Menominee Indian Reservation in Keshena, with a second campus in Green Bay that serves students from the Oneida Nation.

President: Paul F. Trebian became president of the College of Menominee Nation in 2018. President Trebian is a native of Alaska and a member of the Tlingit tribe. Dr. Trebian earned a doctorate in educational leadership and a MBA in technology management from the University of Phoenix, and he earned both a master’s and bachelor’s degree in architecture from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.



Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College

https://www.lco.edu @lcoocc

The college was founded in 1982 by the Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians to serve the tribe and the local Hayward community. The college is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium.

President: Russell Swagger became president of Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College in 2018. President Swagger is a member of the St. Croix Band of Lake Superior Chippewa. Dr. Swagger earned an associate degree from United Tribes Technical College, a bachelor’s degree from Minot State University, a master’s degree from the University of Mary, and a doctoral degree from Capella University.



Wyoming’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: University of Wyoming

http://www.uwyo.edu @UWyonews

Founded in 1886, four years before the territory was admitted as the 44th state. The University of Wyoming is unusual in that its location – Laramie – is written into the state’s constitution.

President: Laurie Nichols became president of the University of Wyoming in 2016. Dr. Nichols has an extensive land-grant background. She has a bachelor’s from the land-grant institution South Dakota State University, a master’s in education from the land-grant institution Colorado State University, and a doctoral degree in family and consumer sciences from the land-grant institution The Ohio State University. As well, she was a faculty member at the land-grant institution University of Idaho, the dean of the College of Education and Human Sciences and the provost at South Dakota State University.