K State LGUs

Kansas 1862 Land-Grant Institution: Kansas State University

 https://www.k-state.edu @KState

The Kansas State Agricultural College was founded in 1863, becoming the first land-grant college created under the Morrill Act. In 1931, the name of the school was changed to the Kansas State College of Agriculture and Applied Science. In 1959, the name was changed again to Kansas State University of Agriculture and Applied Science. However, the short-form name Kansas State University has widespread usage, including official documents such as diplomas.

President: In 2016, Richard B. Myers became the president of Kansas State University. He is a retired U.S. Air Force General, and is an alumnus of Kansas State, having received a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering. He joined the Air Force as the direct result of having participated in K-State’s ROTC program. President Myers also has a master’s degree in business administration from the land-grant institution of Auburn University.




Kansas 1994 Land-Grant Institution: Haskell Indian Nations University

http://www.haskell.edu @HaskellU

In 1884, the United States Indian Industrial Training School opened as a trade school for Native American youth. In 1887, the name of the school was changed to the Haskell Institute, named after a member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Kansas. In 1965, Haskell graduated its last high school class and, two years later, became Haskell Indian Junior College. In 1993, the school became a four-year institution and was renamed Haskell Indian Nations University.

President: In 2014, Venida S. Chenault became the president of Haskell Indian Nations University. President Chenault is an enrolled member of the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation, and earned three degrees from the University of Kansas School of Social Welfare.


Kentucky’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: University of Kentucky

http://www.uky.edu @universityofky

Founded in 1865 as the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Kentucky, a publicly chartered department of Kentucky University. In 1888, the A&M college separated from Kentucky University (now known as Transylvania University). In 1908, the school was renamed “State University, Lexington, Kentucky,” and then in 1916 changed its name to the University of Kentucky.

President: Eli Capilouto was named the president of the University of Kentucky in 2011. He is a native of Alabama and holds a doctoral degree in dental medicine from the University of Alabama at Birmingham and a doctorate in health policy and management from Harvard University. @UKypres



Kentucky’s 1890 Land-Grant Institution: Kentucky State University

https://kysu.edu @KYStateU

Kentucky State University was chartered in May 1886 as the State Normal School for Colored Persons. In 1902, the name was changed to Kentucky Normal and Industrial Institute for Colored Persons. The name was changed again in 1926 to Kentucky State Industrial College for Colored Persons. In 1938, the school was renamed the Kentucky State College for Negroes, and then the term “for Negroes” was dropped in 1952. In 1972, the school’s name was changed to Kentucky State University.

President: In 2017, M. Christopher Brown II was named president of Kentucky State University. President Brown has an impressive land-grant pedigree, having earned a bachelor’s in elementary education from the land-grant institution South Carolina State University, a master’s in education policy and evaluation from the land-grant institution the University of Kentucky, and a doctorate in higher education from the land-grant institution the Pennsylvania State University. Further, he also held faculty positions at several land-grant institutions, including the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Penn State. He also served as the president the land-grant institution of Alcorn State University and the provost of the land-grant institution Southern University and A & M College. @DrMCB2