I State LGUs

Idaho’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: University  Idaho

https://www.uidaho.edu @uidaho


Founded in 1889, the University of Idaho held its first classes on the Moscow campus in 1892. The University of Idaho was Idaho’s only university until 1963 (when Boise Junior College became Boise State University).

President: Chuck Staben took office as the president of the University Idaho in 2014. All of President Staben’s degrees are from land-grant institutions, including an undergraduate degree from the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana and a doctorate from the University of California at Berkeley. He also held several professional positions at other notable land-grant institutions, including the University of Kentucky and the University of South Dakota.


Illinois’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

 http://www.illinois.edu @Illinois_Alma

Founded in 1867 as the Illinois Industrial University. In 1885, its name was changed to the University of Illinois. In 1982, the university officially changed its name to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign to distinguish its main campus within the University of Illinois system; other campuses exist in Springfield and Chicago (the site of the university’s medical center).

President: Timothy L. Kileen took office as the president of the University of Illinois system in 2015. While he personally had no prior affiliations with land-grant institutions, Killeen’s wife, Roberta M. Johnson, holds B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in geophysics and space physics from the University of California, Los Angeles, part of California’s land-grant higher education system.



Indiana’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: Purdue University

 https://www.purdue.edu @LifeAtPurdue

Purdue University was founded in 1869 by the Indiana General Assembly. Named after its primary benefactor – John Purdue, a business leader from Lafayette, Indiana – the university held its first classes in 1874.

President: Mitch Daniels became the president of Purdue University in 2013. He is the former governor of Indiana, as well as having served as the Director of the U.S. Office of Management and Budget. @purduemitch


Iowa’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: Iowa State University

https://www.iastate.edu @IowaStateU

In 1858, the Iowa Agricultural College and Model Farm was officially established. Iowa was the first state in the nation to accept the provisions of the 1862 Morrill Act. In 1898, it was renamed Iowa State College of Agricultural and Mechanic Arts. In 1959, the college was officially renamed Iowa State University of Science and Technology. However, the short-form name Iowa State University has widespread usage, including official documents such as diplomas.

President: In 2017, Wendy Wintersteen became the first woman president of Iowa State University. Dr. Wintersteen has a strong land-grant pedigree, holding a bachelor’s degree in crop production from the land-grant institution of Kansas State University and a doctorate in entomology from her current land-grant institution of Iowa State University.