OKLAHOMA’S LAND-GRANT INSTITUTIONS: Oklahoma State University, Langston University, College of the Muscogee Nation

Oklahoma’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: Oklahoma State University

https://go.okstate.edu @okstate

Founded in 1890 as the Oklahoma Territorial Agricultural and Mechanical (A&M) College. Upon statehood in 1907, “Territorial” was dropped from its title. In 1957, the school changed its name to Oklahoma State University of Agricultural and Applied Sciences.  In 1980, “Agricultural & Applied Sciences” was formally dropped, and the Oklahoma State University System was created. The Stillwater campus was designated as the flagship institution alongside branches including OSU-Institute of Technology in Okmulgee , OSU-Oklahoma City,  OSU-Tulsa (1984), and the Center for Health Sciences (also in Tulsa).

President: V. Burns Hargis became the president of Oklahoma State University in 2008. The land-grant background of President Hargis includes his having received a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Oklahoma State. @burnshargis



Oklahoma’s 1890 Land-Grant Institution: Langston University

 http://www.langston.edu  @LangstonU

Founded in 1897 as the Oklahoma Colored Agricultural and Normal University. In 1941, the school was renamed Langston University in honor of civil rights pioneer John Mercer Langston.

President: Kent J. Smith, Jr. became the president of Langston University in 2012. President Smith’s land-grant credentials include his having been the dean of students at the land-grant institution Auburn University, the assistant director of black student services at the land-grant institution Colorado State University (where he also received his doctorate in education and human resources studies), and both a bachelor’s degree in secondary education and a master’s degree in education administration and supervision from the land-grant institution Southern University and A&M College. @LUPrez16



Oklahoma’s 1994 Land-Grant Institution: College of the Muscogee Nation


Established in 2004 by an act of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation National Council. In 2009, Muscogee (Creek) citizens voted in support of the College of the Muscogee Nation becoming a constitutional college. The college is a member of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium, and was designated as a 1994 Land-Grant institution in the 2014 Farm Bill.

President: The president of the College of the Muscogee Nation is Robert Bible.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *