KENTUCKY’S LAND-GRANTS: University of Kentucky and Kentucky State University

Kentucky’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: University of Kentucky @universityofky

Founded in 1865 as the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Kentucky, a publicly chartered department of Kentucky University. In 1888, the A&M college separated from Kentucky University (now known as Transylvania University). In 1908, the school was renamed “State University, Lexington, Kentucky,” and then in 1916 changed its name to the University of Kentucky.

President: Eli Capilouto was named the president of the University of Kentucky in 2011. He is a native of Alabama and holds a doctoral degree in dental medicine from the University of Alabama at Birmingham and a doctorate in health policy and management from Harvard University. @UKypres



Kentucky’s 1890 Land-Grant Institution: Kentucky State University @KYStateU

Kentucky State University was chartered in May 1886 as the State Normal School for Colored Persons. In 1902, the name was changed to Kentucky Normal and Industrial Institute for Colored Persons. The name was changed again in 1926 to Kentucky State Industrial College for Colored Persons. In 1938, the school was renamed the Kentucky State College for Negroes, and then the term “for Negroes” was dropped in 1952. In 1972, the school’s name was changed to Kentucky State University.

President: In 2017, M. Christopher Brown II was named president of Kentucky State University. President Brown has an impressive land-grant pedigree, having earned a bachelor’s in elementary education from the land-grant institution South Carolina State University, a master’s in education policy and evaluation from the land-grant institution the University of Kentucky, and a doctorate in higher education from the land-grant institution the Pennsylvania State University. Further, he also held faculty positions at several land-grant institutions, including the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Penn State. He also served as the president the land-grant institution of Alcorn State University and the provost of the land-grant institution Southern University and A & M College. @DrMCB2


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *