ARIZONA’S LAND-GRANTS: University of Arizona, Diné College, and Tohono O’odham Community College

Arizona’s 1862 Land-Grant Institution: University of Arizona  @UofA

The University of Arizona was founded in 1885, and was the first university in the Arizona Territory. Construction of the first building on campus began in 1887, and classes met there for the first time in 1891.  Because there were no high schools in the Arizona Territory, the university maintained separate preparatory classes for the first 23 years of its operation.

President: Robert C. Robbins, an internationally recognized cardiac surgeon, assumed the position as president of the University of Arizona on June 1, 2017. @UofAPres

Arizona’s 1994 Land-Grant Institutions: Diné College and Tohono O’odham Community College


Diné College  @Dine_College

Diné College is the first tribally controlled and accredited collegiate institution in the United States. It was established in 1968 as Navajo Community College. In 1997, it was renamed Diné College.

President: Charles Monty Roessel became the president of Diné College in 2017. Prior to this role he served as the Director of the Bureau of Indian Education, where he oversaw 183 K-12 schools and two Tribal Colleges and Universities.



Tohono O’odham Community College

Tohono O’odham Community College (TOCC) was founded in 1998 by the Tohono O’odham Nation. The tribe’s career center formerly provided associate degrees and a variety of certificates. TOCC began accepting students two years later, with classes accredited through an intergovernmental agreement with Pima County Community College District in Tucson, AZ. In 2003, TOCC was fully accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

President: In 2016, Paul M. Robertson became the president of Tohono O’odham Community College. Prior to assuming this position, he had served as the academic chair of the college.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *