Lesson #4: Vary Your Protein & Recipe Spotlight on Tomatoes!

August 2021

Click to Learn More! 

Celebrate Your Plate Newsletter August 2021

Seasoned Newsletter Vol 4

Tomato Basics

More Tomato Tips! https://foodhero.org/magazines/tomato


Growing Tomatoes:

Video Credit/ https://foodhero.org/


Tomato Cutting Skills:

Video Credit/https://www.acouplecooks.com/how-to-cut-a-tomato/


Tomato Recipes!

Sloppy Garden Joes (Video): https://celebrateyourplate.org/recipes/sloppy-garden-joes

Baked Green Tomatoes: https://celebrateyourplate.org/recipes/baked-garden-green-tomatoes

Taco Salad (Video): https://celebrateyourplate.org/recipes/taco-salad

Street Style Fish Tacos (Video): https://celebrateyourplate.org/recipes/street-style-fish-tacos

Cucumber & Tomato Salad: https://celebrateyourplate.org/recipes/cucumber-salad

Photo Credit/CelebrateYourPlate.org; Baked Green Tomatoes


Protein Handouts!

Top Ten Tips to Vary Your Protein Routine

Top Ten Tips for Eating Seafood Twice a Week

Tips for Choosing Lean Meat

Protein Basics: https://www.foodhero.org/category/monthly-magazine-categories/protein

Photo Credit/USDA’s Food and Nutrition Service SNAP-Ed Photo Gallery


Protein Recipes!

Black Bean Brownies: https://celebrateyourplate.org/recipes/black-bean-brownies

Scrambled Eggs in a Mug (Video): https://celebrateyourplate.org/recipes/scrambled-eggs-in-a-mug

Blueberry Protein Smoothie: https://celebrateyourplate.org/recipes/blueberry-protein-smoothie

Lemony White Bean Salad: https://celebrateyourplate.org/recipes/lemony-white-bean-salad

Photo Credit/CelebrateYourPlate.org; Lemony White Bean Salad