Interview Questions 2012/2014

These are questions I used in my interviews for “The Spirit Leads My Needle” documentary in 2012, and my undergraduate research project interviews.

2012:
(What is their body language?)

What are your benchmarks? What makes you good at what you do?

What are your passions?

What are the benefits in what you do? For yourself? For others?

Did you have a mentor, or did someone guide you into this path?

Have you ever thought you can’t do this anymore, or an event influenced your decisions to join/not join?

2014:
Why does New Orleans matter to you?

Why does New Orleans matter to the USA?

Why does New Orleans matter globally?

What cultural differences do you think exist in NOLA separate from the rest of the United States?

It is hard to narrow one thing, but what one thing would you recommend for a first time New Orleanian?

What memories would you like to share that could help facilitate a clear understanding of the importance of New Orleans?

Would you care to share any parting thoughts, advice, or suggestion to viewers of this project?

 

Things to do in New Orleans

Festivals
Essence Festival http://www.essence.com/festival-2017
St. Bernard Parish www.visitStBernard.com
Los Islenos Festival www.losislenos.org
Tennessee Williams Festival www.tennesseewilliams.net
New Orleans Sacred Music Festival http://www.neworleanssacredmusicfestival.org/
Southern Decadence Festival (August 30-Sept 4) http://www.southerndecadence.net/
French Quarter Festival (April 12-15, 2018) http://fqfi.org/satchmo
Satchmo SummerFest (August 4-6) http://fqfi.org/satchmo
Crescent City Blues and BBQ Festival (October 13-15) https://www.jazzandheritage.org/blues-fest/
Voodoo Festival (October) https://www.voodoofestival.com/
Treme Creole Gumbo Festival (November 18-19) https://www.jazzandheritage.org/treme-gumbo
Christmas in New Orleans www.neworleansonline.com/holiday

Plantations
Bocage Plantation http://bocageplantation.com/
Destrehan Plantation http://www.destrehanplantation.org/
Houmas House https://houmashouse.com/
Laura: A Creole Plantation http://www.lauraplantation.com/
Evergreen Plantation http://evergreenplantation.org/
Nottoway Plantation Resort http://www.nottoway.com/html/plantation-tours-history.htm
Oak Alley Plantation http://www.oakalleyplantation.org/

Mardi Gras
Mardi Gras World www.mardigrasworld.com

Art
A Shot of Bourbon (Gallery & Photo Sessions) 717 Toulouse St 336-749-6590
Craig Tracy Gallery (Fine Art Bodypainting) www.craigtracy.com
Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden (NOLA Museum of Art) Free Wednesdays
Julia Street Gallery Hop (Free)
Lafayette Square musicians (Free/Tips)
Frenchmen Street musicians (Free/Tips)
Decatur Street musicians (Free/Tips)
Mardi Gras Museum (Free) @ Arnaud’s Restaurant
Dutch Alley Artist’s Co-Op 912 N Peters St www.dutchalleyartistsco-op.com
Tress Turner www.tressturner.com
Linda Sampson www.immortelleart.com
Reggie Ford www.reggieart.com
Al Benkin www.albenkin.com
Wine In Art http://wine-in-art.com/
Joy Gauss www.joysclayart.com
D. Lammie-Hanson www.dlahammiehanson.com

Food & Drink
Croissant d’or 617 Ursulines Avenue 504-524-4663
Rita’s Tequila House 419 Bourbon St www.ritastequilahouse.com
Little Vic’s Rosticceria Sicilian Street Food (Free delivery) 719 Toulouse St 504-304-1238
Dreamy Weenies (Delivery) 740 N Rampart 504-872-0157
NOLA Poboys (Delivery) 908 Bourbon St 504-522-2639
Buffa’s 1001 Esplanade Ave www.buffasbar.com
Parkway Bakery & Tavern 538 Hagan Ave www.parkwaypoorboys.com
New Orleans Food Co-Op www.nolafood.coop
Cafe Du Monde 800 Decatur St www.cafedumonde.com
The Columns Hotel
Nirvana Indian Cuisine www.insidenirvana.com
Commander’s Palace 1403 Washington Ave
Degas House 2306 Esplanade Ave www.degashouse.com
Cafe Beignet 311 Bourbon St www.cafebeignet.com
Crescent City Brewhouse 527 Decatur St
The Praline Connection 542 Frenchmen St www.pralineconnection.com
Envie Espresso Bar & Cafe 308 Decatur
Mother’s 401 Poydras St http://www.mothersrestaurant.net/
Court of Two Sisters 613 Royal St http://www.courtoftwosisters.com/

Shopping
Garden District Bookstore 2727 Prytania St www.gardendistrictbookshop.com
Crescent City Books 230 Chartres St www.crescentcitybooks.com
Librairie Bookshop 823 Chartres St 504-525-4837
Beckham’s Bookshop 228 Decatur St 504-522-9875
Arcadian Books 714 Orleans St 504-523-4138
Dauphine Street Books 410 Dauphine St 504-529-2333
The Faulkner House 624 Pirate’s Alley 504-524-2940
Beth’s Books 2700 Chartres St 504-947-4477
Maple Street Used & Rare Books 7523 Maple St 504-866-7059
French Market
Bourbon Pride 909 Bourbon St www.bourbonpride.com
UpCycle 1222 Decatur St 504-875-7022
Greg’s Antiques 1209 Decatur St www.gregsantiques.net
Esoterica Occult Goods 541 Rue Dumaine www.onewitch.com
Bedford Falls https://www.etsy.com/shop/BedfordFalls?ref=condensed_trust_header_title_items
Beadwork by Margo www.beadworkbymargo.com
Creative Moods www.creativemoods.com
FAB Books 504-947-3700
XXXShop www.XXXShopp.com
Alexa Pulitzer www.alexapulitzer.com
A Tisket A Tasket 910 Decatur St www.atisketatasketneworleans.com
Carpe Noctem 709 1/2 St. Ann
Avery Fine Perfumery 527 St. Joseph www.averyfineperfumeries.com
Miss Malaprop www.shopmissmalaprop.com

Tours
Villalobos (Pit Bulls & Parolees)
Capital City Trolley Tours
Haunted History Tours www.hauntedhistorytours.com
Treme Tour 504-666-8300
St. Louis #1 Cemetery Tour 504-666-8300
Creole Queen www.creolequeen.com
Gay New Orleans Walking Tour 638 St. Ann 504-568-0717
Louisiana History Galleries @ Historic New Orleans Collection
St. Louis Cathedral
A Walk Along The River
Canal Streetcar Ride
Down in the Treme
NOLA Gay History Tour
Under the Oaks of City Park
Steamboat Natchez Jazz Cruise www.steamboatnatchez.com
“Desire”able Day in New Orleans
Gray Line’s Isle of Orleans Tour
Royal Carriages Tour www.neworleanscarriages.com
Lafitte’s Barrataria Museum & Wetland 4917 City Park Dr www.townofjeanlafitte.com
Swampboat Tour
Hermann-Grima House http://www.hgghh.org/discover/hermann-grima-house/
New Orleans Pharmacy Museum http://www.pharmacymuseum.org/
WWII Museum www.nationalww2museum.org

Voodoo
Voodoo Spiritual Center www.voodoospirtualtemple,org
Island of Salvation Botanica 2372 St. Claude Ave www.feyvodou.com

MISC
Bustout Burlesque 715 St. Charles Ave www.bustoutburlesque.com
WINO www.winoschool.com
Carousel Gardens
Train Garden
Storyland
City Park www.neworleanscitypark.com
Jackson Square
Armstrong Park
Congo Square
Algiers Ferry (FREE)
Marie Lauveau’s tomb
Club Ampersand www.clubampersand.com
The Hookah www.hookah-club.com
Audubon Zoo & Aquarium www.auduboninstitute.org
Louisiana State Museum
St. Patrick’s Church 724 Camp Street

LGBT
Louisiana HIV/AIDS Testing 507 Frenchmen St 504-945-4000
Cafe Lafitte in Exile 901 Bourbon St
Good Friends Bar 740 Dauphine St
Bourbon Pub & Parade 801 Bourbon St
Oz 800 Bourbon St
Tropical Isle 721 Bourbon St
Voodoo Bar 718 N Rampart