2017 Conference Program

Saturday, October 14

7:30 – 8:15 am     Registration, Breakfast

8:15 – 8:25 am     Welcome & Opening Remarks

8:25 – 9:35 am     Commitment Over Time

Commitment System Theory: The Dynamic Orchestration Commitments to Multiple Targets

  • Howard J. Klein, The Ohio State University (klein.12@osu.edu)
  • Omar Solinger, VU University Amsterdam (o.n.solinger@vu.nl)
  • Veronique Duflot, NIMEC – University of Caen (veronique.duflot@unicaen.fr)

Beginning, middle and end: Use of worker’s narratives to understand the context and dynamics of commitment

  • Ana Carolina de Aguiar Rodrigues, University of São Paulo (anacarolina.ar@usp.br)
  • Sonia Maria Guedes Gondim, Federal University of Bahia (sggondim@gmail.com)
  • Diego Silveira Paim, University of São Paulo (diego.paim@usp.br)

The Rise and Fall of Commitment: A Novel Approach to Modeling the Full Life Cycle

  • Ernest L. Hoffman, Personnel Research and Development Corporation (ehoffman.phd@gmail.com)

9:50 – 10:35 am     Contextual Influences

Lateral vs. Vertical Ties: The Comparative Effects of Commitment and Social Capital on Entrepreneur Performance in Low Resource Environments

  • Lisa Jones Christensen, Brigham Young University (ljc@byu.edu)
  • L. Lin Ong, Cal Poly Pomona (lueilinong@cpp.edu)

A Person-Centered Investigation of Individuals Changing Employers: Current Commitments, Residual Commitments, and Covariates

  • Heiko Breitsohl, University of Klagenfurt (heiko.breitsohl@aau.at)
  • Sascha A. Ruhle, Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf (Sascha.Ruhle@hhu.de)

10:45 am – 11:55 am     Commitment to Multiple Targets

Pulled in different directions: Conflicts in client commitment

  • David Cross, University of Bath (d.e.cross@bath.ac.uk)
  • Juani Swart, University of Bath (j.a.swart@bath.ac.uk)

Unpacking complexities, seeking consensus: different natures and targets in profiles of workplace bonds

  • Ana Carolina de Aguiar Rodrigues, University of São Paulo (anacarolina.ar@usp.br)
  • Yvonne G. T. van Rosenberg, Radboud University (Y.vanRossenberg@fm.ru.nl)
  • Rafael dos Santos Aquino, University of São Paulo (aquino.ras@gmail.com)

It’s in the mix: Commitment to multiple targets, tenure and performance

  • Yvonne G.T. van Rossenberg, Radboud University (Y.vanRossenberg@fm.ru.nl)
  • Alexander Leischnig, University of Bamberg (Alexander.Leischnig@uni-bamberg.de)
  • Juani Swart, University of Bath (j.a.swart@bath.ac.uk)

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm     Lunch

1:00 – 2:30 pm     Panel Discussion:  Increasing our Analytic Sophistication 

Panelists:

  • Elaine Hollensbe, University of Cincinnati (elaine.hollensbe@uc.edu)
  • Alexandre J. S. Morin, Concordia University (alexandre.morin@concordia.ca)
  • Omar Solinger, VU University Amsterdam (o.n.solinger@vu.nl)

Facilitator:

  • S. Arzu Wasti, Sabanci University (awasti@sabanciuniv.edu)

2:45 – 3:30 pm     Commitment Antecedents

Affective Commitment as Employees Look to the Future: The Contribution of Anticipated Change in Organizational Support

  • Robert Eisenberger, University of Houston (reisenberger2@uh.edu)
  • Jordan Kirkland, University of Houston (jordanekirkland@gmail.com)
  • Salar Mesdaghinia, Eastern Michigan University (smesdagh@emich.edu)
  • Kyoung Yong Kim, City University of Hong Kong (kimky.yong@cityu.edu.hk)
  • Xueqi Wen, University of Houston (xueqiwen77@hotmail.com)

The Influences of the Perception of Organizational Justice on Organizational Commitment: a Longitudinal Study

  • Renata Gomes de Jesus, Instituto Federal do Espírito Santo (renata@ifes.edu.br)
  • Diva Ester Okazaki Rowe, Universidade Federal da Bahia (diva@ufba.br)

3:40 – 4:50pm     Commitment Profiles

Exploring the Antecedents of Organizational Commitment Profiles: The Roles of Psychological Need Satisfaction and Organizational Experiences

  • Samantha C. January, Texas A&M University (schalupa@tamu.edu)
  • Mindy E. Bergman, Texas A&M University (mindybergman@tamu.edu)

Affective Commitment Profiles in the German Military Reserve Force –The Role of Professions and Organizations

  • Georg Loscher, Bundeswehr University Munich (Georg.Loscher@unibw.de)
  • Sascha A. Ruhle, Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf (Sascha.Ruhle@hhu.de)
  • Stephan Kaiser, Bundeswehr University Munich (Stephan.Kaiser@unibw.de)

Employee Commitment Before and After an Economic Crisis: A Stringent Test of Profile Similarity

  • John P. Meyer, Western University (meyer@uwo.ca)
  • Alexandre J. S. Morin, Concordia University (alexandre.morin@concordia.ca)
  • S. Arzu Wasti, Sabanci University (awasti@sabanciuniv.edu)

4:50 – 5:15 pm     Facilitated Discussion of First Day

5:30 – 6:30 pm     Reception

6:30 pm     Dinner (in small informal groups, restaurant suggestions provided)

 

Sunday, October 15

7:30 – 8:15 am     Breakfast

8:20 – 9:30 am     Construct Clarity

Level and Bases of Commitment: A Conceptual and Empirical Analysis

  • Thomas E. Becker, University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee (teb1@sar.usf.edu)
  • Robert J. Vance, Vance & Renz, LLC (bob@vancerenz.com)
  • Stephen Jaros, Southern University and A&M College (stephen_jaros@subr.edu)

Commitment to Organizational Career: Definition, Discriminant and Predictive Validity, and Boundary Conditions

  • Émilie Lapointe, The University of Nottingham Ningbo China (Emilie.Lapointe@nottingham.edu.cn)
  • Christian Vandenberghe, HEC Montreal (christian.vandenberghe@hec.ca)
  • Karim Mignonac, University of Toulouse 1 Capitole (karim.mignonac@ut-capitole.fr)
  • Alexandra Panaccio, Concordia University (alexandra.panaccio@concordia.ca)
  • Nathalie Richebé, Skema Business School (nathalie.richebe@skema.edu)
  • Patrice Roussel, University of Toulouse 1 Capitole (Patrice.Roussel@ut-capitole.fr) 

Concept delimitation in the Brazilian context: Additional evidence for the unidimensional approach

  • Ana Carolina de Aguiar Rodrigues, University of São Paulo (anacarolina.ar@usp.br)
  • Howard J. Klein, The Ohio State University (klein.12@osu.edu)
  • Antonio Virgilio Bittencourt Bastos, Federal University of Bahia (antoniovirgiliobastos@gmail.com)

9:45 – 11:20 am        Commitment and the Changing Nature of Work

Panelists:

  • Heiko Breitsohl, University of Klagenfurt (heiko.breitsohl@aau.at)
  • David Cross, University of Bath (d.e.cross@bath.ac.uk)
  • Émilie Lapointe, The University of Nottingham Ningbo China (Emilie.Lapointe@nottingham.edu.cn)
  • Ana Carolina de Aguiar Rodrigues, University of São Paulo (anacarolina.ar@usp.br)

Facilitator:

  • Yvonne G.T. van Rossenberg, Radboud University (Y.vanRossenberg@fm.ru.nl)

11:30 am – 12:00 pm      Conference Awards & Closing Remarks