ESN Conversation: Beyond Racial Division

Racial tensions continue to be a part of the American landscape. George Yancey, a Baylor sociologist identifies two failed strategies to address these tensions. One is colorblindness, that ignores the realities of race and the historical injustices that have taken place. The other is antiracism, that in centering racial concerns often alienates people essential to the process.

In our May ESN Conversation, we will be talking with George Yancey about his new book, Beyond Racial Division, and the alternative approach he proposes based on his research. He advocates for a collaborative conversations in a mutual accountability model. The model allows for different responsibilities for different participants within a shared commitment to mutual accountability and to the common good.

Our Conversation will be on May 19 at 1 pm ET/12 pm CT/11 am MT/10 am PT and 7 am if you are in Hawai’i. Sign up for a zoom link today at https://tinyurl.com/ESNBeyondRacialDiv

Copies of the book at a discount price will be available to call participants and there will be time for audience discussion with George Yancey.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.