Dependent Tuition Assistance Enrollment Opens for Summer

Ohio State offers eligible employees and their dependents the opportunity to advance their education at Ohio State. For dependent tuition assistance, applications must be submitted each term. The summer 2016 term enrollment window opened March 14 and closes June 17. The enrollment window for autumn 2016 opens June 27 and closes August 26. Faculty and staff can apply using Employee Self Service or paper applications.
— > Read more

Thank-A-Donor Day

Tomorrow, April 5th is Thank-a-Donor Day!

We will be celebrating by writing thank you notes to our loyal donors! This is a simple way to show our supporters our appreciation.  Lunch will be provided, so please join us for as long as you can!

What: Writing short thank you notes to donors who have been supporting our college for 10 or more consecutive years

Where: Columbus Campus – Ag Admin Building Room 105

Wooster Campus – ATI Housing Community Room

When: April 5th from 11:30 – 1:00 pm

Who: Open to all CFAES – Faculty, Staff and Students

How: Supplies and scripts will be provided. Simply show up and write!

Please RSVP to Emily at, to make sure we have plenty of food and beverages.

Thank you!

Emily Jewell | Stewardship Program Coordinator

Development Office

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences

216 Howlett Hall, 2001 Fyffe Court, Columbus, OH 43210

614-292-3620 |

Undergraduate Research Summary 2015-2016

Dear CFAES Faculty, Staff and Students:

You are commended for your continued support of undergraduate research. Many faculty, staff and graduate students stepped forward to serve as judges for the 2016 Denman Undergraduate Research Forum, which was noted by the staff of the Undergraduate Research Office.

The importance you place on undergraduate research is evident by the numbers. During the 2015-2016 academic year:

1)      Over 70 students at Ohio State were advised by a CFAES faculty member;

2)      Students received 24 grants or scholarships to support their research;

3)      The percentage of CFAES student posters in the Denman is 2x the CFAES percentage of the student body population;

4)      14 CFAES students received awards and 2 received Honorable Mention for their research at the CFAES or Denman Undergraduate Research Forums;

5)      27 Faculty served as research advisors and mentors

6)      70 faculty, staff or graduate students served judges for the CFAES or Denman Undergraduate Research Forums;

7)      Many more students were employed in your research programs learning invaluable scientific and personal leadership skills.

Please congratulate all those who participated, the complete list of participants, abstracts and award winners are available on the CFAES or Denman websites respectively. Below are the award and honorable mention recipients for the 2016 CFAES and Denman Undergraduate Research Forums.

CFAES Award Winners






Animal Sciences – Animal Health

Rachael Adams

Thomas Wittum

John Rowe

Prosper Boyaka

Animal Sciences – Nutrition

Jared Ashworth

Jeffrey Firkins

Rachel Woodfint

Kichoon Lee

Environmental and Plant Sciences

Tiffany Atkinson

Suzanne Gray

Matt Osterholt

Alexander Lindsey

Food Science

Meredith Myers

Yael Vodovotz

Rachel Larue

Luis Rodriguez-Saona

Social Sciences

Sara Adamczak

Kimberly Cole

Denman Award Winners

Agriculture/Environmental Science

1st: Rachel Woodfint, Animal Sciences; Advisor: Kichoon Lee

2nd: Robert Denney, Forestry, Fisheries, and Wildlife; Advisor: David Hix

3rd: Kathryn Williamson, Food Science and Technology; Advisor: Yael Vodovotz and Jenn Ahn-Jarvis

3rd: Jared Ashworth, Animal Sciences; Advisor: Jeffrey Firkins

Health Professions – Laboratory/Cellular

2nd:  John Rowe, Animal Sciences; Advisor: Prosper Boyaka

Denman Honorable Mentions

Agriculture/Environmental Science

·         Tiffany Atkinson, Environmental Science; Advisor: Suzanne Gray

·         Clint Gasser, Animal Sciences; Advisor: Jeffrey Firkin

Thank you for your commitment to students,

Jeffory A. Hattey, PhD
Professor and Assistant Dean

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences
100 Agricultural Administration Building, 2120 Fyffe Road, Columbus, OH 43210-1066
614-247-2745 Office / 614-292-1218 Fax