Four physician scientists awarded Doris Duke Charitable Foundation grants to further research impacted by COVID-19

The Ohio State University College of Medicine is an important leader in the broader effort to retain and support early-career physician scientists, support women and underrepresented faculty and address racism in the academic environment.  The institution recently received funding from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation — in concert with the American Heart Association, the Burroughs Welcome Fund, the John Templeton Foundation, the Rita Allen Foundation, and the Walder Foundation — to specifically support physician scientists whose research and careers have been impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.  Ginny L. Bumgardner, MD, PhD, professor of Surgery and associate dean for Physician Scientist Education and Training at The Ohio State University College of Medicine and Rebecca Jackson MD, professor of Medicine, and director of the OSU Center for Clinical and Translational Sciences are the Principal Investigators of this $550,000 grant.

Dr. Bumgardner and Dr. Jackson shared that four early career faculty members at the college were recently awarded this unique funding support aimed at preventing derailment of physician scientist careers impacted by COVID-19 and other such stressors.

“This grant acknowledges a cultural shift. In order to do your best at an institution, you need to have support when ‘life’ happens, and a recognition that life now not only includes family caregiving responsibilities, but also other unexpected pressures like those associated with COVID-19,” Dr. Bumgardner says. “There are times when a safety net is needed—institutional support— so that early career clinician scientists don’t get derailed.” Read full article here.

Author: Kelli Trinoskey

Top Read

The Bumgardner Lab recently submitted the article “Invariant NKT cells promote the development of highly cytotoxic multipotent CXCR3+CCR4+CD8+ T cells that mediate rapid hepatocyte allograft rejection”, the article has been selected by Editors as a Top Read for the December 15, 2021, issue of the  Click here to view.

Jason M. Zimmerer, Bryce A. Ringwald, Sachi R. Chaudhari, Jing Han, Chelsea M. Peterson, Robert T Warren, Madison M. Hart, Mahmoud Abdel-Rasoul, Ginny L. Bumgardner. “Invariant NKT cells promote the development of highly cytotoxic multipotent CXCR3+CCR4+CD8+ T cells that mediate rapid hepatocyte allograft rejection”.

Transplant researchers acknowledged at new tower ceremony

[Pictured left to right: Dr. Jason Zimmerer, Dr. Ginny Bumgardner, Dr. Johnson, Dr. Paz, Dr. Jing Han]

Dr. Ginny Bumgardner, Dr. Jing Han, and Dr. Jason Zimmerer of the Bumgardner Lab were present during the Building a Healthier Tomorrow event, at the site of the new inpatient hospital scheduled to open in 2026.

Lab Member Updates

Congratulations to Sachi Chaudhari who was recently awarded an undergraduate research scholarship for her project Titled: “Investigating the trafficking patterns and cellular targets of antibody suppressor CD8+ cytotoxic T cells”

Welcome Newest Lab Members Kavya Koneru and Nadia Rajab! 

“I am a second-year undergraduate pharmaceutical science major at the Ohio State College of Pharmacy. As a part of the Bumgardner Lab, I hope to learn more about immunology and how current research in the field can impact transplant surgery. I am excited to grow as a researcher and learn how to effectively investigate various research questions.”






“I’m a sophomore at Ohio State University, with a major in Health Sciences and a minor in International Relations and Diplomacy. My goal is to work in health equity and help decrease global health disparities. I believe understanding immunology is critical for this, as understanding the immune system helps us understand how we fight diseases, no matter who or where we are. In the Bumgardner lab, I hope to learn more about the intricacies of T cells’ functions and am excited to study the immune systems of living specimen.”

Leadership announcement: Medical Scientist Training Program

On May 14, 2021 Ginny Bumgardner, MD, PhD, and Rama Mallampalli, MD, were announced as directors for the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP). Carol Bradford, MD, MS, FACS – Dean, College of Medicine was quoted as saying “I am excited to see their leadership of this important program in the years to come.” Please join us in congratulating Dr. Bumgardner and Dr. Mallampalli on their new roles!

Congratulations to Madison Hart for her research accolades and COM acceptance

By Lisa Green

Tuesday April 13, 2021

Madison Hart, an undergraduate student in Dr. Bumgardner’s lab, successfully defended her research thesis April 6 on transplant immunology. This fulfills requirements towards her graduation from the OSU College of Engineering Honors Program with Research Distinction. Madison also won 1st place at the OSU Denman Undergraduate Research Forum in the category of “Understanding Health Outcomes.” After graduation, Madison will be continuing on as a buckeye, entering our College of Medicine as an incoming Med 1 student. Congratulations Madison!


Chelsea Peterson accepted into OSU Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program!

Chelsea Peterson a Research Associate in the Bumgardner Lab, was recently accepted into the OSU Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program! Chelsea joined the Bumgardner lab in August of 2020 and quickly immersed herself into the work of the Transplant Immunology Research Team. Please join us in wishing Chelsea the best of luck as she embarks on this new journey as a BSGP student in May 2021.

Han Awarded NIH F32 Postdoctoral Fellowship

Achieves Firsts in the Department of Surgery Research Training Program!

Joy Leemaster

Jing Han, MD, PGY2, who is working towards her doctoral degree with an emphasis in Immunology in the College of Medicine Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program, has received fantastic news from the NIH and has achieved a few firsts in the Department of Surgery Research Training Program.

  • First DOS surgery resident to be awarded an NIH F32 postdoctoral fellowship
  • Her score is “1” on the NIH scale of 1 – 9.  The descriptor for a score of 1 is “Exceptional”
  • Her rank is “1st” percentile
  • The title of her grant application is “The molecular and spatial interactions between antibody suppressor CD8+ T cells and B cells that regulate alloantibody production after transplant.”
  • Her role on this grant is principal investigator
  • The total award amount is $103,668

Thank you to Dr. Bumgardner for your amazing mentorship!

Supporting Transplant Research | Ohio State Medical Center

Some might say John and Carol Foreman are a match made in heaven. Through 30 years of marriage, they have been each other’s best company—whether traveling the world or pruning the backyard hedges. As Carol often says, “We are joined at the hip.” When life threw the Foremans a curve shortly … Read Full Article