About Us

The Ohio State University Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) is the central organization for those interested in biomedical engineering. As the Ohio State Chapter of a nation organization, we seek to provide the following for our members:

  1. Networking Opportunities/ Professional Development
  2. Mentorship
  3. Social Opportunities
  4. Lots of free food

Networking Opportunities/ Professional Development

Using our extensive network of industry connections, we host: career fairs, industry & research symposiums, lectures from industry representatives, and many more. We’ll also take you on tours of many biomedical engineering companies!

Our Professional Development Program has achieved national recognition by the National Biomedical Engineering Society (2016), and local recognition by the Ohio State University College of Engineering (2016)


Graduate students and upperclassmen are more than happy to contribute to our mentorship program. Through this facet of BMES; we aim to educate, help, and answer questions from any BMES member. Not only do we host various panels and events (grad student panel, med student panel, complimentary minors, etc.) but we will pair you up with someone who can answer all your questions. And if they cant, let us know and we will get you the answer.

Our Mentorship Program has achieved national recognition by the National Biomedical Engineering Society (2013, 2014, 2015)

Social Events

It is our goal to create a community amongst our members, and in our ongoing effort to do so we host many social events throughout the year. Annually, we reserve the second floor of bdubs, host pizza parties, go skiing, watch the buckeyes play, host the department picnic, and many more. Be on the lookout for more to come!

Free Food

We serve a lot of it, trust us.

Prospective Member Powerpoint 2016

What is Biomedical Engineering?

The Biomedical Engineers at The Ohio State University are engaging, intellectual problem-solvers of a different class. Unlike other engineering disciplines, biomedical engineers are focused on one of the most complex and unknown environments that face individuals: the human body. The problems dealt by the human body often are not simple cause and effect relationships; instead, they are a product of multiple complex and often unknown relationships. As a result, the integration of mechanical, electrical, chemical and material science engineering backgrounds is required to fully understand the problems and design solutions to fix them. Biomedical engineers utilize tools from these engineering backgrounds with a functional understanding of the biological systems. They are capable of designing and providing complete solutions to the increasingly complex problems that arise within the human body.

Events Calendar