Cunningham Appalachian Student Scholarship

Dr. Patricia Cunningham

This fund is designated to provide scholarship opportunities to undergraduate students from Appalachian counties in honor of Dr. Patricia Cunningham to further her pledge of increasing access to higher education for underrepresented students. These scholarships will be awarded based on academic merit and commitment to student leadership.

Dr. Cunningham was a three-time graduate of Ohio State University and received her Bachelor of Arts in Women’s Studies in 2002 going on to receive her doctorate in Education Policy and Leadership in 2011. In Women’s Studies, She was part of the first cohort of undergraduate students who helped create the department’s Peer Power group, which led discussions on gender, race, and sexuality in area high schools. In the College of Education, she taught courses on race, poverty, gender, civic engagement and leadership, and oversaw several community outreach programs as Director of Social Change. She was the founder of the Appalachian Project Ohio which focused on pathways to education for Ohio State’s Appalachian students.

Dr. Patty dedicated her time, resources, and soul to serving underrepresented students both on and off-campus. She tirelessly worked to break down barriers for students to obtain a college education and pursue their endeavors beyond. She will be greatly missed by the many students she mentored and the OSU community.

Apply online at

Undergraduate students from the Appalachian region in any Arts and Sciences major are encouraged to apply by March 31, 2021. Students must be enrolled full-time during the 2021-2022 academic year to be eligible.

Giving to our Appalachian Students

If you’re interested in donating to this fund, you can give online. A very special thank you to our donors who have supported this fund for the past two years since its inception:

Community of Appalachian Student Leaders
Four Winds Community
Dr. Megan Chew
Lynaya Elliott
Rishona Headen-Brown
Dr. Jason Marion
Steven May
Heather Robinson
Dr. Amy Shuman
Julie Vargo
Brooke Walters
Dr. Shannon Winnubst