Allen County Agriculture Hall of Fame to Induct Five

Clint Schroeder OSU Extension

The Allen County Agriculture Hall of Fame will be inducting five new members during an evening banquet on July 15th at the City Club in Lima. The Hall of Fame is presented by Nutrien Lima in conjunction with the Lima Allen County Chamber of Commerce. The inductees of the ninth class come from various backgrounds but have all made outstanding contributions to not only agriculture, but also their communities. The inductees are:

Jay Begg – A sixth generation farmer from Monroe Township who served as manager of the Allen County Fair and as an Allen County Commissioner.



Gene McCluer – A dairy farmer from Auglaize Township that also worked for Ohio State Extension in neighboring Hardin County.



Gerald Brooks – A grain and livestock farmer from Richland Township who was a pioneer of no-till and conservation farming. He also worked with Richland Township Trustees and Allen County Regional Planning to develop Agriculture Preservation and Comprehensive Plans.

Clyde Ditto – A farmer from Amanda Township that was a leader for Farm Bureau and the Ohio Young Farmers Association. Also provided extensive support to the Allen County Fair and Allen County Ag Society.


Harry, Myrna, and Scott Shutt (Kewpee Hamburgers) – The family has been committed to support of local agriculture and youth development programs aimed at sustaining agriculture into the future.


Tickets for the induction ceremony can be purchased for $15 by visiting or by calling the Lima Allen County Chamber of Commerce at 419-222-6045. The banquet will begin at 6:00 pm with the meal and the induction ceremony will follow shortly after.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *