Six ACEL Seniors named CFAES Outstanding Senior

Six students in the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership were recognized at the annual CFAES Celebration of Students (formerly known as the CFAES Recognition Program) as Outstanding Seniors.

These seniors were selected through an application and interview process by CFAES faculty members.

The six students from ACEL selected include:

Megan Besancon, agricultural communication
Miranda Miser, agricultural communication
Leah Schwinn, agricultural communication
Jarred Shellhouse, agricultural communication
Mary Siekman, agricultural communication
Carley Snider, agriscience education

We wish you the best of luck as you leave Ohio State and continue your careers as communicators, educators and graduate students!

Dr. Tracy Kitchel, professor and department chair, poses with the six CFAES Outstanding Seniors from our department at a reception held prior to the program.

Autumn Commencement 2015

On Sunday, December 20, 2016, eight seniors from the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership completed their undergraduate coursework and graduated from The Ohio State University.

Congratulations to:

Kylie Barclay, agricultural communication
Meghan Bennett, agricultural communication
Diane Gress, agricultural communication
Carolyn Huhn, agricultural communication
Jamie Sablotny, agricultural communication
Kathryn Shook, agricultural communication
Caitlin Conrad, community leadership
Jared Smith, community leadership

Our faculty and staff wish you all the best as you begin this new chapter in your lives!

Ohio State Commencement

On Sunday, 43 students from the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership graduated with a bachelor, master, or doctorate degree.

We would like to congratulate these students on this accomplishment and thank them for letting us be a part of their higher education and wish them much success in their future careers.

Students graduating from the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership:

Bachelor of Science in Agriculture
Agricultural Communication:
Stephanie Alonso
Hayley Beck
Tyler Butler
Kelly Fager
Tonya Fender
Dominick Gaetano
Eileen Gress
Megan Heckman
Olivia Houts
Megan Hunker
Cierra Jordan
Jennifer Kapalin
Alexandria Misch
Stacie Seger
Blake Spitznagel
Courtney Tarvin
Erin Williams

Agriscience Education:
Nathaniel Birkhimer
Michael Clark
Maverick Liles
Charity McMullen
Aaron Miller
Megan Moorman
Bethany Myers
Tanner Schoen
Katherine Terrell
Christopher Thomas

Community Leadership:
Aaron Deskins
Christine Dubler
Mackenzie Hogan
Jacob Kemmerer
Michelle King
Lydia Kuhn
Spencer Williams

Master of Science in Agricultural and Extension Education
Lindsey Breuler
Elizabeth Isaya
Ronald Miles
Kayla Oberstadt
Jeff Suchy

Doctorate in Agricultural and Extension Education
Kyle Culp



Graduation Countdown – 2 days!

Tomorrow is Spring Commencement at The Ohio State University! 43 students from our department will get their diploma for the bachelor, master, or doctorate degree! Congratulations!

Just today and tomorrow before these ladies are alumni of Ohio State!

Just today and tomorrow before these ladies are alumni of Ohio State!

Erin (left) and Krysti (right) are both roommates and friends, therefore they share the last day of the countdown. Erin will graduate tomorrow with a degree in agricultural communication and Kristi with a degree in community leadership.

Graduation Countdown – 4 days!

IMG_3453[1]In 4 days, Blake and 11,000 other students from Ohio State will receive their degrees from Ohio State. 50 of those graduates will be from our department.

Blake will receive her degree in agricultural communication and continue working with the Department of Recreation at Ohio State until her move to Atlanta, Georgia in November.

Congratulations Blake!

ACEL Recognition Program

On Tuesday, April 21, we will be hosting our 2nd Annual Recognition Program.

During this event, graduating seniors and graduate students will be recognized as they ‘wrap up’ their time at Ohio State, as well as undergraduate scholarship recipients will be recognized.

We would love to have all faculty, staff, and those within our industry that support our department to join us for this celebration.

Banquet Ad for Instagram

All tickets for the event, which includes dinner, are $5. Please RSVP to Emily Wickham at

Students can RSVP by visiting An undetermined number of sponsored student tickets are available on a first come, first serve basis.

Anyone wishing to sponsor a student ticket should contact Emily Wickham at

See you on Tuesday, April 21!