Birkhimer named Ohio “Turn the Key” recipient

Congratulations to agriscience education alum Nathan Birkhimir ’15, who was named as the Ohio recipient of the Teachers Turn the Key scholarship to attend the 2019 National Association of Agricultural Educators’ Annual Conference in Anaheim, California.

The Teachers Turn the Key professional development program focuses on providing early-career ag teachers with the tools and support they need to grow and flourish in the profession. Participants are challenged to improve their teaching and classroom management, develop time management skills, and immerse themselves in professional development activities that will support their professional goals.

Congratulations Nathan!

ACEL alumni receive awards an NAE4-H annual conference

Congratulations to several of our ACEL alumni who received national awards at the annual National Association of Extension 4-H Agents (NAE4-HA) during their annual conference in November.

In the service awards, Beth Simeral Boomershine ’01 MS was the recipient of a Distinguished Service Award and Kayla Oberstadt ’14 MS and Kiersten Heckel ’11 each received an Achievement in Service Award.






In the communicator awards, Amanda Raines ’17 was awarded top entry in the “educational piece – team” and Jamie McConnell ’12 MS received the top award in the “radio program.”


Laryssa Lackman Hook ’97 MS was recognized for 25 years of service as a 4-H educator.


Congratulations to these ACEL Buckeyes and all other Ohio 4-H extension educators who received recognition at the annual NAE4-HA conference.

Giving Tuesday

On this #GivingTuesday, consider making a donation to the Centennial Fund for the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership. This fund is designed to support student and faculty needs in the areas of agricultural communication, agriscience education and community leadership.

To donate, visit and search for fund 641209.



*Alumni giving a minimum of $75 to any Ohio State fund prior to December 31, 2019 qualify for early access to football tickets.

Varney completes MS project defense

Please join us in congratulating Katie Varney on the successful defense of her master’s project, “Ohio SNAP-Ed Youth Facilitation Curriculum.”


Varney is pictured with her advisor Dr. Robert Agunga and committee member Dr. Scott Scheer.

Congratulations Katie!


ASE Student Teacher Orientation

On Friday, November 18, our agriscience education students who will be student teaching during the upcoming semester met with their cooperating educators and university supervisors at the Ohio FFA Center for the annual “student teaching orientation.”

During the morning session, students and teachers were separated to discuss what was expected of each of them – requirements, assignments and evaluations that need to be completed for licensure, etc. Following lunch, students and teachers came together to continue the day of planning ahead for the students’ semester in the classroom!





Eberhart defends MS project

Join us in congratulating Callie Eberhart on the successful defense of her master’s project, “Ohio 4-H Extension Educator and Program Assistant Perceptions of Youth with Disabilities.”

Dr. Jera Niewoehner-Green was Eberhart’s advisor and Dr. Scott Scheer served as a member of her graduate committee.

News Release: Ohio State students selected for national agricultural education symposium

Ohio State agriscience education students Elizabeth Landis, Chloe Metcalf and Brittany Weller were selected to attend the Future Agriscience Teacher (FAST) Symposium as part of the National Association of Agricultural Educators’ (NAAE) annual conference in December in Anaheim, CA.

Landis, Metcalf and Weller are three of 29 agriscience education students from across the nation who were selected to attend the conference’s track for current preservice agricultural educators. Throughout the conference, students participating in the FAST Symposium will experience professional development, networking and mentoring. The sessions will focus on creating an inclusive classroom environment, inquiry-based learning, classroom management, professional development and collegiality.

“The FAST Symposium is a wonderful opportunity for Elizabeth, Chloe and Brittany to expand their network with a diverse group of educators and learn skills that will benefit their future students,” said Dr. Scott Scheer, chair of the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership. “I am proud of these three students for not only being selected for this competitive program, but also going above and beyond to expand their professional development skills before entering the classroom.”

Landis, Metcalf and Weller, of Bellevue, are seniors studying agriscience education. Landis, Metcalf and Weller will begin student teaching in January. Landis, of Anna, Ohio, will complete her student teaching at Marion-Local High School in Marion, Ohio, under the supervision of Mr. Matt Elsass. Metcalf, of New Bloomington, will complete her student teaching at Bowling Green High School in Bowling Green, Ohio, under the supervision of Stephanie Conway. Weller, of Bellevue, will complete her student teaching at South Central High School in Greenwich, Ohio, under the supervision of Sarah Lucha.

The agriscience education major at Ohio State prepares its students to acquire a license to teach agricultural science in secondary high schools in Ohio and across the country, with extensive training in agricultural science, educational psychology, instructional methods, and youth development. For additional information on the agriscience education major, visit or call 614.247.6358.





Bauman defends MS project

Please join us in congratulating Joy Young Bauman on the successful defense of her master’s project, “Youth Cooperative Leadership Experience.”

Bauman is pictured with her advisor, Dr. Jerry Thomas, and committee member Dr. Keith Smith.

Congratulations Joy!

ACEL graduate students attend NAE4-HA

The 2019 NAE4-HA Conference with the theme “Mountains of Opportunity” was held at the Greenbriar Resort in White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia.  Several ACEL students, faculty and alumni were in attendance.

Current ACEL PhD student Katie Feldhues presented a program showcase titled “Empowering your Emotional Intelligence” with ACEL alums Hannah Epley ’14 PhD and Crystal Ott ’17 MS. Current ACEL PhD student Christy Clary ’08 presented a poster titled “Communicating with Clientele – There’s an App for That!”. Clary was also recognized with the Excellence in Healthy Living Programming Award, along with ACEL alum Jessica Rockey ’02 MS.

A picture containing standing Description automatically generated

Current MS student Frances Nicol ’18 presented a program seminar with ACEL alum Leslie Cooksey ’05, ’12 MS, Doug Foxx and Aubry Fowler titled “Own Your Mountain – Take Your Best Hike to Training Camp Counselors”.

A group of people posing for the cameraDescription automatically generated

Nicol, Foxx, Fowler and Cooksey

Current ACEL PhD student Margo Long presented a program showcase titled “Beyond the Standards of Success”.

Margo Long before she presented her presentation at NAE4-HA.


ACEL faculty member Scott Sheer gave a workshop presentation with Christy Millhouse, and ACEL alum Rhonda Williams ’03 MS titled “Guiding Volunteers to the Summit by Putting into Practice the New 4-H Cloverbud Volunteer Guidebook.”

Congratulations to all who presented and attended!

Lowe defends MS project

Please join us in congratulating Jessica Lowe on the successful defense of her master’s project, “Implementing Farm to School in Pickaway County Head Start Centers.”

Lowe is pictured with her advisor, Dr. Scott Scheer, and Dr. Caryn Filson who served as a member on her graduate committee.

Congratulations Jessica!