2019 CFAES Celebration of Students

Students in the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership were recognized at the annual CFAES Celebration of Students Recognition Program on April 4, 2019.

Held in the Archie Griffin Ballroom at the Ohio Union, students and student organizations in ACEL were recognized for their academic achievements and community engagement.

Congratulations to our students on a fantastic year!

Marlee Stollar, a junior studying agricultural communication (left), and Megan Bergman, a junior studying agriscience education, served as two of the three student co-chairs of the recognition program.

Paige Schaffter, a sophomore studying agriscience education at Ohio State ATI, and Sarah Longo, a senior studying community leadership, were recognized as Newcomb Scholars. This award is presented to the top four students for each rank in CFAES.

Haley Evans and Kaitlyn Evans, both juniors studying agriscience education, were presented the Ray A. Miller CFAES Student Council Scholarship. Both students are active members of the Council. This scholarship is in memory of long-time Council advisor, and former assistant dean, Dr. Ray A. Miller. The Evans sisters are pictured with Miller’s wife, who presented the award.


Our department nominated Bart Johnson with the CFAES Meritorious Service to Students Award. Bart owns Ohio’s Country Journal and Ohio Ag Net Radio and has been instrumental with the success of A Night for Young Professionals, an event hosted by Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow.


Agricultural Education Society was presented with the New Activity Award. AES has been active in the development and success of an after school agriculture club with Metro Middle School. Twice each month, AES members present lessons on agriculture to the students, ranging from the evolution to agriculture, types of soybean plants and tours of the Waterman Dairy Farm.


Josie Montoney, a junior studying agricultural communication and public affairs, was awarded the CFAES Outstanding Student Worker Award. Josie works in the CFAES Office of Government Affairs and was nominated by her supervisor and director Adam Ward.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *