Mark your calendars! Ohio 4-H Forestry Competition at Hocking College on June 24, 2016

The 2nd Annual Ohio 4-H Forestry Competition is fast approaching.  It is sponsored by Ohio State University Extension and Hocking College. Last year’s winners from Sheridan High School in Perry County earned the right to represent Ohio in the National Competition.  Be sure to let us know if you need help preparing your team for 2016.

The event will take place on June 24, 2016 at the Hocking College Natural Resources Building in Nelsonville, OH.   The Registration deadline for the contest is June 13, 2016.  A link to the registration form can be found at the bottom of this post.   The contest is modeled after the National 4-H Forestry Invitational (  The winning team will represent Ohio at the National Competition at Jackson’s Mill 4-H Camp in Weston, WV on July 31-August 4th.

Information flyer and registration form: 2016 Ohio 4-H Forestry

For general contest information contact: Dave Apsley – or 740-710-3009

To register contact:  Travis West –  or 740-596-5212


4-H Forestry Partners

Hold June 24, 2016 for Next Year’s Ohio 4-H Forestry Competition at Hocking College


Imagine your team here in 2016. Ohio’s 2015 team from Sheridan High School in Perry County

It’s never too early to start pulling your team together for 2016.  Be sure to take some time to explore the resources throughout this site, and mark your calendar for June 24, 2016.

2016 Ohio 4-H Forestry Competition – Flyer

For more information, contact

Dave Apsley at / 740-710-3009

Travis West

Jim Downs



Perry County Team Represents Ohio at the National 4-H Forestry Invitational

Congratulations to Ohio’s representatives at the National 4-H Forestry Invitational at Jackson’s Mill State 4-H camp in Weston, WV.  Ohio’s team which was comprised of students from Sheridan HS in Perry County, placed in the top 10. The team was coached by Rob Brokaw. This is an impressive finish since Ohio has not competed at the Invitational for nearly a decade.


Left to Right: Haley Black, Clayton Woneymaker, Kelly Metzger, and Timmy Stickdorn

For a more information visit:

Ohio 4H Forestry News Release 7-15