Current Lab Members

Amy Andes

  • Undergraduate: B.S. in Chemistry from Northeastern University
  • Currently: Ph.D. student
  • From: Kildeer, Illinois
  • Research: I am studying sensory aversion to food/drinks, specifically in people with autism, and working to identify the mechanism of the aversion (focusing heavily on textural cues in the oral cavity).
  • Hobbies: Singing, eating sweets, playing with dogs, memes, yoga, and traveling

Contact: andes.34@osu.edu

 

Danica Berry

  • Undergraduate: B.S. in Food Science & Technology from Oregon State University
  • Currently: M.S. student
  • From: Lake Oswego, Oregon
  • Research: I am interested in researching the relationship between chemesthetic stimulate and temperature and/or tactile sensitivity.
  • Hobbies: Hiking, concerts, yoga, meditation, trying out new kombucha flavors.

Contact: berry.778@osu.edu

 

Maria Cotter

  • Undergraduate: B.S. in Food Science from Michigan State University
  • Currently: Ph.D. student
  • From: East Lansing, Michigan
  • Research: I am studying the relationship between sensoryscience and consumer decisions regarding product wanting/desire.
  • Hobbies: Playing tennis, baking, and watching Big Ten football/basketball

Contact: cotter.97@osu.edu

 

Mackenzie Hannum

  • Undergraduate: B.S. in Food Science and Technology from The Ohio State University
  • Currently: Ph.D. candidate
  • From: Columbus, Ohio (born and raised a buckeye!)
  • Research: I am studying ways to improve panelist engagement during sensory evaluations.
  • Hobbies: Going to new restaurants, exploring outside, cooking new recipes, and drinking wine

contact: hannum.23@osu.edu

 

Gabe Hutchings

  • Year: M.S. Student
  • From: Jenkinsville, South Carolina
  • Research: TBD
  • Fun facts: I once trained a donkey to carry me around my town. I also was an undergraduate in the Simons lab!

Contact: hutchings.30@osu.edu

 

Brianne Linne

  • Degrees: B.S. in Neuroscience from the University of Rochester & M.S. in Food Science from Ohio State (Simons Lab)
  • Currently: Ph.D. Student
  • From: Annandale, New Jersey
  • Research: Co-advised by Dr. Simons and Dr. Peterson, I will be investigating flavor perception and chemical analysis in a food medium TBD.
  • Hobbies: Running, biking, sailing, hiking/camping, and reading

contact: linne.8@osu.edu

 

Kym Man

  • Undergraduate: B.S. in Food Science from University of California, Davis
  • Currently: Ph.D. Student
  • From: Hong Kong
  • Research: I am studying ways of context personalization and their impact on sensory evaluations.
  • Hobbies: Eating, drinking wine, traveling, working out/outdoor activities, hanging out with my dog Sherman, watching sports

Contact: man.44@osu.edu

 

Jessica Miao

  • Undergraduate: B.S. in Food Science & Technology from The Ohio State University
  • Currently: Ph.D. Student
  • From: Columbus, OH
  • Research: I am researching gamification and its possible application in sensory science methodology.
  • taking my dog Kermit for hikes and swims, watching documentaries, practicing ikebana, going to Orangetheory

Contact: miao.33@osu.edu

 

Brittany Miles

  • Undergraduate: B.S. in Biology with a minor in Biochemistry from Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Currently: Ph.D. candidate
  • From: Cary, North Carolina
  • Research: I am investigating the underlying mechanisms involved in texture perception in the oral cavity.
  • Other roles: Currently serving as the Food Science Undergraduate Research Experience (FoodSURE) co-coordinator
  • Hobbies: Baking, graphic design, and watching Disney movies

contact: miles.243@osu.edu

 

Laura Riley

  • Undergraduate: B.S. in Chemistry from Florida Southern College
  • Currently: M.S. student
  • From: Dunnellon, Florida
  • Research: I am interested in the effect of orthonasal and retronasal olfaction on perception.
  • Hobbies: Yoga, barre, Disney, and visiting new coffee shops.

Contact: riley.719@osu.edu

 

Ashley Soldavini

  • Undergraduate: B.S. in Food Science and Technology with an emphasis in Consumer Science from University of California, Davis
  • Currently: M.S. student
  • From: Millbrae, California
  • Research: I am studying thermal perception and its relation to texture in the oral cavity.
  • I am also in charge of our Sensory Evaluation Center!

contact: soldavini.1@osu.edu