Our Committees

The Postdoctoral Association (PDA) at OSU has several different committees to help improve the experience of its members. Here is an outline of the different PDA committees along with a brief description of each of the committees. If you are interested in being a part of any of the PDA committees, please signup using the form at the bottom of this page. If you have any specific questions, please contact the current co-chairs of the respective committees.

Professional Development: Organize programs to support the professional research and career development skills of postdocs by providing workshops/forums to address career related issues such as grant writing, scientific writing, job searching, networking, non-academic careers, etc.

Current Co-ChairsMahesh ChemudupatiAngela Filous

Social: Facilitate professional and social networking within the postdoctoral community by organizing events including socials, picnics and trips or activities. Organize events to provide opportunities for social, professional and academic networking.

Current Co-ChairsAyala AllonJenifer Gomez Pastora

International: Facilitate international postdocs on specific issues to this group, including immigration, international partners or spouses, and language training.

Current Co-ChairsFaith Brennan, Mona El Refaey

Policy and Advocacy: Collect and analyze information on employment conditions and benefits of postdocs and their families; seek adequate benefits for its members commensurate with the level of education and skill demonstrated by the Ph.D., including a health plan, parental leave, child-care, disability insurance and retirement plan; seek recognition for postdocs as members of the campus community with a distinct set of contributions and needs, work to get a voice in campus decisions that affect postdocs, and formalize and coordinate our relationships with faculty and campus administrators.

Current Co-ChairsLeo Taylor, Hardy Castada

Development: Organize and facilitate fundraising efforts to support the work of the PDA and the postdoc community.

Current Chair: Nathalie Houssin

Travel Awards: Collecting the applications, sending them out for reviews and granting the biannual travel awards to postdocs based on their PDA involvement and Research.

Current Co-Chairs: Manoj Gottipati, Nathalie Houssin, Kuntal De

There are 2 committees that are still being formed: Recruitment and Event Planning. If you are interested in starting up or leading these new groups, please contact the PDA Co-Chairs Sara Koenig or Leanna Perez

Committee Signup