Postdoctoral Service Award

This is an annual award presented to a postdoctoral scholar who has demonstrated a profound, sustained leadership contribution to improving the postdoctoral experience at Ohio State. Peers and faculty are encouraged to nominate a postdoc who demonstrates this excellence.

Atsuko Uchida is 2018’s Postdoctoral Service Award Recipient!

Dr. Uchida has been an active member in the PDA since its founding in 2013, and as co-chair of the Social Committee of the Ohio State Postdoc Association (PDA) since 2016, Dr. Uchida has put forth remarkable effort to plan challenging and entertaining social events for the PDA.  Her services during National Postdoc Appreciation Week last year were especially noteworthy as they greatly enhanced our PDA members’ networking opportunities. Dr. Uchida is currently a member of Dr. Anthony Brown’s laboratory in the Department of Neuroscience in the College of Medicine. She has conducted studies about a microscopic protein scaffold of filaments which provides structural support to the cell. She is especially focused on investigating the intracellular transport system of “neurofilament”, which is the most abundant cytoskeletal filament in nerve cells.

Dr. Uchida pictured with Marcela Hernandez and Noah Weisleder of the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs (OPA).

Brenda Reader is 2017’s Postdoctoral Service Award Recipient!

Dr. Reader demonstrated her dedicated service to the Postdoctoral Association as co-chair on the Policy and Advocacy committee 2015-2016 as well as taking on as co-chair of the PDA from 2016 to 2017.  Her postdoctoral training started in 2013 and she became a postdoctoral fellow in the Molecular Mechanisms of Lung Inflammation training program in 2014 until finishing her training in 2017. After finishing her postdoctoral training, Dr. Reader became Manager of the Comprehensive Transplant Center Human Tissue Biorepository and Senior Research Associate in the College of Medicine.

Dr. Reader pictured with members of the Postdoctoral Association (PDA) and the Postdoctoral Advisory Council (PAC).

Nancy Moran is 2016’s Postdoctoral Service Award Recipient!

The Postdoctoral Advisory Council is pleased to announce Nancy E. Moran as the inaugural recipient of the 2016 Postdoctoral Service Award. Dr. Moran has not only contributed to the leadership of the Ohio State Postdoctoral Association (PDA) as a former co-chair, but has been an outstanding advocate through her efforts as a member of  the PDA’s Policy and Advocacy and Professional Development Committees. Much of her efforts centered around a proposal from the PDA to establish an Office of Postdoctoral Affairs and paid parental leave for postdocs, both proposals are being evaluated by the university leadership. After a 5-year position as a postdoctoral researcher and trainee of Dr. Steven Clinton in the Comprehensive Cancer Center, Dr. Moran will be moving to Baylor College of Medicine/USDA Children’s Nutrition Research Center (Houston, TX) as a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the Department of Pediatrics-Nutrition.


Congratulations Nancy!