ABOUT US

Quick Facts about the Postdoctoral Community at Ohio State

Quick overview of the OPA


Staff:

Marcela Hernandez, PhD

Administrative Director

hernandez.16@osu.edu

A molecular biologist and biochemist by training, Dr. Hernandez designs and implements programs to enhance retention, and support of postdoctoral scholars including a special focus on those with underrepresented backgrounds. She became a scientist thanks to an excellent PhD mentor who inspired her, trained her, and mentored her. For this reason she is very passionate about mentoring and is working to help the next generation of STEM professionals navigate successfully to rewarding careers. To learn more about Dr. Hernandez’ professional trajectory, go here.

 


Noah Weisleder, PhD

Faculty Director

noah.weisleder@osumc.edu

Dr. Weisleder is an Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies in the Department of Physiology and Cell Biology at The Ohio State University.  Dr. Weisleder has published numerous peer-reviewed publications or book chapters in the fields of muscle and cardiovascular physiology. His research in these areas has been supported by the NIH and several private foundations, including the Muscular Dystrophy Association (MDA), Children’s Cardiomyopathy Foundation and the National Football League. Additionally, he is an inventor on dozens of US and international patents. He has received a Fellowship from the American Heart Association, a Pathway to Independence Award from the National Institutes of Health and the Kauffman Foundation Outstanding Postdoctoral Entrepreneur Award. To learn more about Dr. Weisleder and his research interests, visit his page here.

 



Fatima Vakil

Program Assistant

vakil.23@osu.edu

Fatima is a recent graduate of The Ohio State University, with a Bachelor’s degree in Neuroscience. She has worked with the Postdoctoral Advisory Council for two years before the establishment of the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs. She plans to pursue a career in clinical psychology, and her research interests include mental health in minority communities.

 

 

 


Student Assistants:


Nivedita Bhaktha

bhaktha.1@osu.edu

Ada Kanapskyte 

kanapskyte.1@osu.edu

Rylee Kohr

kohr.19@osu.edu

Akaysha Nolan

nolan.255@osu.edu