Zayd Abukar Authors “Academic Advisors: the Secret Key to College Success”

A belated congratulations to Zayd Abukar, Academic Advisor & Staff Assistant in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, for publishing an article in the Columbus African American News Journal on the role academic advisors play in college student success!

Link to the full article:


The Academic Advising Association of Ohio State (ACADAOS) annually nominates at least one Advisor and one Advisor Administrator for the Excellence in Advising Awards at both the regional and national level. The nominees are the previous year’s ACADAOS Outstanding Advisor and Outstanding Advising Adminstrator Award winners.

The Excellence in Advising Awards annually recognize individuals who have demonstrated qualities associated with outstanding academic advising of students or outstanding academic advising administration.

All recipients of national awards are honored at the Awards Ceremony held during the Annual Conference. They also receive a complimentary basic registration for the Annual Conference, a recognition plaque and a one-year membership in NACADA.

All recipients of regional awards are recognized at the Region V Annual Conference during a luncheon. They also receive funding for their conference registration and a recognition plaque.

More about the NACADA Region V Awards

More about the NACADA National Awards

NACADA Award Recipients

2017 NACADA CIGD Service Award- Sarah Howard

2016 Excellence in Advising- Advising Administrator Award for NACADA (Region V)- Melinda McDonald

2015 Excellence in Advising- Primary Role Award for NACADA (Region V)- Peter Spreitzer

2015 Excellence in Advising- Advising Administrator Award for NACADA (Region V)- Suzanne Dantuono

2015 Outstanding Advising Award (National)- Danielle Whitaker

Congrats to the 2015-2016 PDP Winners!


Congratulations the winners of the 2015-2016 Professional Development Program! All advisors listed below reached at least 275 points in Tier 3 of the PDP and received a $25 Visa gift card at the annual ACADAOS Kickoff event on Friday, September 9th, 2016. Three lucky people also won the grand prize drawing for a $200 gift card!

Katie Bush-Glenn
Margo Coates
Amanda Crall
Diana DeVol Bevilacqua
Leslie Dowler
Stephanie Elliott
Sarah Howard
Ruth Ann Karl
Jamie Paulson – $200 gift card winner!
Joanna Spanos
Cory Shain
Gabe Tippery – $200 gift card winner!
Lindsay Tolchin – $200 gift card winner!

Hopefully this serves as an incentive for all advisors to participate in year three of the Professional Development Program, which is now live in Carmen for all members of ACADAOS who have renewed their membership for the 2016-2017 academic year!